Because I Said So!: The Truth Behind the Myths, Tales, and Warnings Every Generation Passes Down to Its Kids

3,56 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 2.823 Bewertungen bei Goodreads )
 
9781476706962: Because I Said So!: The Truth Behind the Myths, Tales, and Warnings Every Generation Passes Down to Its Kids
Alle Exemplare der Ausgabe mit dieser ISBN anzeigen:
 
 

Book by Jennings Ken

Die Inhaltsangabe kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Críticas:

"Because I Said So! is the MythBusters of old wives' tales. But beware: it could be a dangerous book if it falls into the wrong hands; namely your kids'. All of us can look back on the cautionary admonitions our parents and grandparents used to shout at us when we were in the middle of fun, and now our suspicions that they were hokum are verified! But we have to keep this to ourselves. If our kids get a hold of this book, we'll have nothing left to kill their joy with. So buy this book, read it, and then hide it away!"--Ken Denmead, New York Times bestselling author of Geek Dad

"With his trademark with and genius. . . . Jennings imparts wisdom and good sense in this highly entertaining and oddly educational book."--Publishers Weekly

"A fun, lighthearted compendium of conventional wisdom, mostly parental, which debunks plenty of old wives' tales and urban myths while offering a few surprising truths.... 'Occasionally Mom knew what she was talking about, ' as this clever book confirms, but often she did not."--Kirkus Reviews

"Sets aside esoterica in favor of the received wisdom of American parenting. . . . Jennings maintains his humor and warmth, keeping everything on the level of friendly, well-researched advice from the dad down the street who, by the by, would totally own your ass on trivia night at the neighborhood pub. Because I Said So! is breezy and illuminating, a mix that would be more volatile in less capable hands."--The A.V. Club

"Armed with case histories, scientific finds and experiments on himself and his own children, Jennings let us in on what we really need to worry about ... and whether parents can now say 'I told you so!'"--Los Angeles Times

"Jennings examines dozens of parental warnings, scoring their veracity against the most up-to-date scientific knowledge he can find. The result is highly engaging, occasionally surprising, and even somewhat useful. . . . If this book keeps one kid from having to wait an hour between eating and swimming, it will have done its job."--Boston Globe

"Ken Jennings reveals the truth behind all those things you tell your children."--Parade

Reseña del editor:

In the tradition of Why Do Men Have Nipples and The Dangerous Book for Boys, a best-selling author and all-time Jeopardy! champion separates myth from fact to hilariously debunk a vast array of parental edicts. 60,000 first printing.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

(Keine Angebote verfügbar)

Buch Finden:



Kaufgesuch aufgeben

Sie kennen Autor und Titel des Buches und finden es trotzdem nicht auf ZVAB? Dann geben Sie einen Suchauftrag auf und wir informieren Sie automatisch, sobald das Buch verfügbar ist!

Kaufgesuch aufgeben

Weitere beliebte Ausgaben desselben Titels

9781451656251: Because I Said So!

Vorgestellte Ausgabe

ISBN 10:  1451656254 ISBN 13:  9781451656251
Verlag: Scribner Book Company, 2012
Hardcover