Beispielbild für diese ISBN

What Girls Learn: A Novel

Cook, Karin

578 Bewertungen bei Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0679769447 / ISBN 13: 9780679769446
Verlag: Vintage Books, 1998
Gebraucht Zustand: Very Good Softcover
Verkäufer Robinson Street Books, IOBA (Binghamton, NY, USA)

Heritage Bookseller
AbeBooks Mitglied seit 1996

Anzahl: 1

Gebraucht kaufen
Preis: EUR 8,74 Währung umrechnen
Versand: EUR 4,23 Innerhalb USA Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer
In den Warenkorb legen

Beschreibung

0679769447 Very good. Quality, Value, Experience. Media Shipped in New Boxes. Buchnummer des Verkäufers BING89213000

Dem Anbieter eine Frage stellen

Bibliografische Details

Titel: What Girls Learn: A Novel

Verlag: Vintage Books

Erscheinungsdatum: 1998

Einband: Paperback

Zustand:Very Good

Über diesen Titel

Inhaltsangabe:

A touching novel about girls and their mothers, sibling rivalry and kinship, and the mysterious tug between love and antagonism that lies at the heart of every family.  
 
The year Tilden turns twelve, her mother, Frances, falls in love and moves the family north.  Soon the watchful, wise Tilden and her rebellious younger sister, Elizabeth, are navigating a new household amidst the awkward and alluring terrain of adolescence.  But when Frances suddenly discovers a lump in her breast, her daughters must confront the unpredictablility of her illness.  With heartbreak and humor, these characters exposes a world of secrets and learn to survive in the face of life's contradictions.  
 
This moving, emotionally stirring debut novel will appeal to fans of Anna Quidlen's One True Thing and Mona Simpson's Anywhere But Here. Funny, haunting, and unflinchingly truthful on every page, What Girls Learn is a book that will be read--and cherished-- for years to come.

Review:

In her debut novel, What Girls Learn, author Karin Cook takes familiar--and familial--territory and turns it neatly on its head. Tilden, the 12-year-old narrator of Cook's tale, and her 11-year-old sister Elizabeth are suddenly uprooted from a hardscrabble life in Atlanta and moved to Long Island when their mother falls in love with a man they've never met. Fortunately, Nick turns out to be a kind man, and the girls' enjoy a temporary stability. Then Frances, their mother, discovers a lump in her breast. While she is hospitalized, her predatory brother arrives, and the sisters are thrown back upon a bond that, although stretched by sibling rivalry, can never be broken.

Karin Cook depicts the inner lives of girls on the verge of adolescence with tremendous insight, and in Tilden, she has found a narrator both eloquent and observant. What Girls Learn explores notions of family and femininity and the transcendence of love, even in the face of loss.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Anbieterinformationen

Our offices and warehouse are located in Binghamton NY. All of our available books are on-line. We are not open to the public. Local buyers may make appointment to pick up items at our warehouse.

Zur Homepage des Verkäufers

Geschäftsbedingungen:

Robinson Street Books, 184 Robinson Street, Binghamton, NY 13904
Email: info@robinsonstreetbooks.com Phone: 607-217-4328 Within USA: 800-
572-4416 Contact: Rhett Moran

All books are guaranteed to be as described. Books are returnable within 2
weeks. Please notify us before returning a book. All items are offered
subject
to prior sale. ALL AUTOGRAPHS ARE GUARANTEED AUTHENTIC, and if found
otherwise, may be returned by original purchaser, for full refund without
time limit. We accept ALL MAJOR CRE...

Mehr Information
Versandinformationen:

Shipping: Media Mail Shipping: $4.49 first book, $1.00 each other. Priority
$7.50 first book $3.00 each other. Some books and sets added postage required.

Alle Bücher des Anbieters anzeigen

Zahlungsarten
akzeptiert von diesem Verkäufer

Visa Mastercard American Express Carte Bleue

Money Order Bar PayPal