Beispielbild für diese ISBN

The View From Here

Jackson, Brian Keith

170 Bewertungen bei Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0671568965 / ISBN 13: 9780671568962
Verlag: Gallery Books, 1998
Gebraucht Zustand: Very Good Paperback
Verkäufer Robinson Street Books, IOBA (Binghamton, NY, USA)

Heritage Bookseller
AbeBooks Mitglied seit 1996

Verkäuferbewertung 4 Sterne

Anzahl: 1

Gebraucht kaufen
Preis: EUR 3,69 Währung umrechnen
Versand: EUR 4,02 Innerhalb USA Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer
In den Warenkorb legen

Beschreibung

0671568965 Very good. Clean text. Email for further information. Quality, Value, Experience. Media Shipped in New Boxes. Buchnummer des Verkäufers BINGX86712826

Dem Anbieter eine Frage stellen

Bibliografische Details

Titel: The View From Here

Verlag: Gallery Books

Erscheinungsdatum: 1998

Einband: Paperback

Zustand:Very Good

Über diesen Titel

Inhaltsangabe:

A stunning debut novel in the tradition of Alice Walker and Toni Morrison. Anna Anderson Thomas has devoted her life to stepping lightly around her husband's vast silences and raising their sons. But now, with a sixth child on the way--a girl this time, she's sure--Anna faces a challenge that threatens to destroy the family she's fought so hard to preserve NYC publicity .

Rezension:

Right from the get-go Brian Keith Jackson's debut novel, The View from Here has an unusual kick to it: the book is narrated by the protagonist's as yet unborn child. The heroine of this touching tale is Anna Anderson Thomas, an African American wife and mother trying to keep her family together in the face of casual prejudice and economic hardship. The mother of five boys, she discovers number six is on the way around the same time her husband, JT, loses his job at the lumber mill. JT insists they can't afford this new baby and decides to give it to his sister to raise. In the ensuing months, Anna's only comfort comes in occasional letters from her childhood friend, Ida Mae, and the responses she composes in her head but never sends.

Jackson's book captures perfectly both the love and the rage of this family under pressure. As Anna navigates the choppy waters of family ties, old obligations, and new responsibilities, the passionate prose and unusual narrative perspective brings immediacy to her passage.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Anbieterinformationen

Our offices and warehouse are located in Binghamton NY. All of our available books are on-line. We are not open to the public. Local buyers may make appointment to pick up items at our warehouse.

Zur Homepage des Verkäufers

Geschäftsbedingungen:

Robinson Street Books, 184 Robinson Street, Binghamton, NY 13904
Email: info@robinsonstreetbooks.com Phone: 607-217-4328 Within USA: 800-
572-4416 Contact: Rhett Moran

All books are guaranteed to be as described. Books are returnable within 2
weeks. Please notify us before returning a book. All items are offered
subject
to prior sale. ALL AUTOGRAPHS ARE GUARANTEED AUTHENTIC, and if found
otherwise, may be returned by original purchaser, for full refund without
time limit. We accept ALL MAJOR CRE...

Mehr Information
Versandinformationen:

Shipping: Media Mail Shipping: $4.49 first book, $1.00 each other. Priority
$7.50 first book $3.00 each other. Some books and sets added postage required.

Alle Bücher des Anbieters anzeigen

Zahlungsarten
akzeptiert von diesem Verkäufer

Visa Mastercard American Express Carte Bleue

Money Order Bar PayPal