Beispielbild für diese ISBN

The Superlative Man

Thomas, Herbert

8 Bewertungen bei Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0374272093 / ISBN 13: 9780374272098
Verlag: Farrar Straus Giroux
Gebraucht Zustand: Fine Hardcover
Verkäufer Robinson Street Books, IOBA (Binghamton, NY, USA)

Heritage Bookseller
AbeBooks Mitglied seit 1996

Verkäuferbewertung 4 Sterne

Anzahl: 1

Gebraucht kaufen
Preis: EUR 13,82 Währung umrechnen
Versand: EUR 4,02 Innerhalb USA Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer
In den Warenkorb legen

Beschreibung

0374272093 Near fine in near fine dust jacket. First edition.* Quality, Value, Experience. Media Shipped in New Boxes. Buchnummer des Verkäufers NT920SD9191

Dem Anbieter eine Frage stellen

Bibliografische Details

Titel: The Superlative Man

Verlag: Farrar Straus Giroux

Einband: Hardcover

Zustand:Fine

Zustand des Schutzumschlags: Dust Jacket Included

Auflage: 1st Edition

Über diesen Titel

Inhaltsangabe:

A thriller in the vein of Raymond Chandler and Dashiell Hammett follows a cub reporter's underground efforts to reveal the unflattering truth about the so-called Superlative Man, the metropolis's superhero and possibly a fraud. A first novel.

Rezension:

Here is yet another lawyer turning literary aspirations to laurels. Although a thriller and a mystery, Herbert Thomas's The Superlative Man is unlike the works of John Grisham or Lisa Scottoline, whose tenure in the trade gives readers more than a peek at courtroom dramas and the gnarly machinations of the law. Herbert Thomas has decided to pick on Superman--well, the generic superhero, anyway. But this hero, the Superlative Man (SM), is a bit suspect--at least, according to protagonist Harvey Gander. After all, this exemplary guy killed--albeit accidentally--Harvey's parents. When asked by his newspaper, The Metropolitan Meteor, to write a story about the people rescued by SM, Harvey uncovers a plot to expose the hero as a fake. Further investigation turns up a very troubling fact: Superlative Man's rescues are all mysteriously being picked off.

Along with this hugely entertaining premise comes Thomas's tribute to the noir genre. Taking his stylistic cue from the hard-boiled private investigator prose of the '40s, he adds a '90s twist that is both spoof and celebration of the movie superheroes we've come to love all over again.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Anbieterinformationen

Our offices and warehouse are located in Binghamton NY. All of our available books are on-line. We are not open to the public. Local buyers may make appointment to pick up items at our warehouse.

Zur Homepage des Verkäufers

Geschäftsbedingungen:

Robinson Street Books, 184 Robinson Street, Binghamton, NY 13904
Email: info@robinsonstreetbooks.com Phone: 607-217-4328 Within USA: 800-
572-4416 Contact: Rhett Moran

All books are guaranteed to be as described. Books are returnable within 2
weeks. Please notify us before returning a book. All items are offered
subject
to prior sale. ALL AUTOGRAPHS ARE GUARANTEED AUTHENTIC, and if found
otherwise, may be returned by original purchaser, for full refund without
time limit. We accept ALL MAJOR CRE...

Mehr Information
Versandinformationen:

Shipping: Media Mail Shipping: $4.49 first book, $1.00 each other. Priority
$7.50 first book $3.00 each other. Some books and sets added postage required.

Alle Bücher des Anbieters anzeigen

Zahlungsarten
akzeptiert von diesem Verkäufer

Visa Mastercard American Express Carte Bleue

Money Order Bar PayPal