Beispielbild für diese ISBN

War Shots: Norm Hatch and the U.S. Marine Corps Combat Cameramen of World War II

Charles Jones

41 Bewertungen bei Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0811706311 / ISBN 13: 9780811706315
Verlag: Stackpole Books, 2011
Gebraucht Zustand: Very Good Hardcover
Verkäufer Ken Spelman Books ABA, PBFA. (est 1948) (York, Vereinigtes Königreich)

AbeBooks Verkäufer seit 2. August 1997

Anzahl: 1

Gebraucht kaufen
Preis: EUR 5,08 Währung umrechnen
Versand: EUR 7,87 Von Vereinigtes Königreich nach USA Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer
In den Warenkorb legen

Beschreibung

Very good hbk with very good d/w, 8vo, £3.99. Buchnummer des Verkäufers 127544

Dem Anbieter eine Frage stellen

Bibliografische Details

Titel: War Shots: Norm Hatch and the U.S. Marine ...

Verlag: Stackpole Books

Erscheinungsdatum: 2011

Einband: Hard Cover

Zustand:Very Good

Zustand des Schutzumschlags: Very Good

Über diesen Titel

Inhaltsangabe:

  • Story of how military photographers got their shots while storming beaches and assaulting pillboxes with combat troops
  • Hatch filmed With the Marines at Tarawa, which won the 1945 Academy Award for Best Documentary Short Subject
  • New details on the controversy surrounding the famous photo of the flag raising on Iwo Jima
  • Hatch was Person of the Week on ABC World News with Diane Sawyer in March 2010
  • For fans of Flags of Our Fathers, Letters from Iwo Jima, and HBO's The Pacific

    Learn more at Author Charles Jones's website.

  • From the Inside Flap:

    They shot some of the most iconic footage of World War II while risking their lives, yet the stories--and sheer guts--of the U.S. Marine Corps combat cameramen have been overshadowed by the heroism of the men with the rifles. War Shots brings these photographers into sharp focus through the career of Norm Hatch, a true American character whose skill with a camera and knack for being in the right place at the right time thrust him to the fore of the effort to record the Marines at war in the Pacific.

    After a Depression boyhood during which he crossed paths with the likes of Al Capone and Johnny Weissmuller, Norm Hatch joined the Marine Corps in 1939. A string of postings took him from boot camp at Parris Island to Washington, D.C., Franklin Roosevelt's retreat in Georgia, and eventually The March of Time newsreel series, where he honed the filmmaking skills that would serve him well throughout the war.

    When American forces invaded Tarawa in November 1943, Hatch and his fellow Marine cameramen piled into landing craft and, with men falling all around them, waded ashore to film the savage three-day battle with the Japanese. Sent back to the United States, Hatch's footage--so disturbing that it needed Roosevelt's permission to be released--ended up in newsreels and then in the film With the Marines at Tarawa, which later won the Academy Award for Best Documentary Short Subject.

    In February 1945, Hatch led a camera unit onto Iwo Jima, where Marines waged a brutal campaign for control of the island and gained enduring fame for raising the flag over Mount Suribachi. The motion pictures Hatch's cameramen shot became another documentary, To the Shores of Iwo Jima. Hatch ended the war in the ruins of Nagasaki, where he and his team documented the aftermath of the atomic bomb.

    Full of pulse-pounding accounts of combat and lively behind-the-scenes anecdotes from Hollywood and Washington, War Shots zooms in on Norm Hatch and the Marine combat cameramen of World War II, spotlighting their courage under fire--and behind the lens.

    „Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

    Anbieterinformationen

    Fine, Rare and Antiquarian as well as Academic Books on a very wide range of subjects, particularly Art, Architecture, Design, Landscape Gardening, Aesthetics, Manuscripts, The Grand Tour,and 18th century Literature & History. Over 40,000 titles in stock. Fine illustrated catalogues issued 6 times a year, please write to receive these. Established 1948. Member of ABA, ILAB and PBFA. Owner: Tony Fothergill

    Zur Homepage des Verkäufers

    Geschäftsbedingungen:

    ****** As members of the ABA & ILAB we guarantee the authenticity and accurate description of all our books. Great care has been taken with all the catalogue entries. * All books are subject to prior sale. * Postage and packing will be charged extra, although for orders within the U.K. mainland this
    will not normally exceed £8.50 * PAYMENT BY VISA, MASTERCARD OR SWITCH IS
    PREFERRED. Please provide both your billing and your shipping addresses when paying with a credit card. * Or, we can reserve ...

    Mehr Information
    Versandinformationen:

    Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

    Alle Bücher des Anbieters anzeigen

    Zahlungsarten
    akzeptiert von diesem Verkäufer

    Visa Mastercard American Express Carte Bleue

    PayPal