ISBN 10: 0393088723 / ISBN 13: 9780393088724
Gebraucht / Anzahl: 0
Bei weiteren Verkäufern erhältlich
Alle  Exemplare dieses Buches anzeigen

Über dieses Buch

Leider ist dieses Buch nicht mehr verfügbar. Bitte geben Sie Suchbegriffe in das untenstehende Formular ein, um ähnliche Exemplare zu finden.

Beschreibung:

Buchnummer des Verkäufers

Über diesen Titel:

Bewertung (bereitgestellt von Goodreads):
3,34 durchschnittlich
(1.453 Bewertungen)

Críticas: "Rustication is an ingenious take on the traditional Victorian Gothic novel, daring us to unravel the dark and twisting tale of a murder that hasn't happened yet. The gripping voice and masterful plotting swirl together in a relentless undertow of gothic intrigue and dread that's impossible to resist. Not that you'll want to. This is a brilliant read." -- Kieran Shields, author of The Truth of All Things "Charles Palliser is one of our finest writers and a new novel from him is always cause to celebrate. Rustication is a book for lovers of mystery and suspense, for those who enjoy reading between the lines of the text. Palliser turns the reader into a detective as the story unfolds: who is writing these vicious letters? And what is their purpose? How much can we trust the narrator's account of events? This is an extremely clever novel in which not only is there a mystery in the invented nineteenth century world of the story but also a mystery about the nature of the text the reader is reading. Here is a book to satisfy fans of Wilkie Collins and Vladimir Nabokov." -- Jane Harris, author of The Observations "A wonderful, sly, compelling tale of mischief, greed, and malice. [Palliser's] narrator, Richard Shenstone, is so marvelously and credibly naive that I couldn't stop turning the pages, hoping he would recognize before it was too late that what he doesn't know could well be the death of him." -- Valerie Martin, author of Property "Charles Palliser is a wonderful novelist, and Rustication is a wonderful novel." -- Iain Pears, author of An Instance of the Fingerpost "Will appeal to fans of John Harwood and Michael Cox. Palliser vividly captures the claustrophobic feeling of a small Victorian community being overwhelmed by anxiety and mistrust, and fans of twisty plots will enjoy guessing at the town's many secrets as they sift through the rumors and gossip offered up by a well-drawn cast of darkly quirky characters." "Palliser's hold on his narrative is enough to turn it into an exercise in pure form. As in a superior detective novel, character, scene and incidental detail fade away and all that remains is the thrill of the chase." -- D.J. Taylor "A wickedly entertaining, intricately plotted read." "A gothic puzzler perfect for misty autumn evenings." -- Stephanie Merritt "Engrossing... an entertaining, stylized, Gothic-esque read." -- Tucker Shaw "[A] provocative Victorian thriller... showcases the author's originality, boldness, and range." -- Gabe Habash "Readers will have as much grisly fun just sorting out the facts as they will solving the mysteries." -- Nicholas Mancusi

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Bibliografische Details

Zustand: New

ZVAB ist ein Internet-Marktplatz für neue, gebrauchte, antiquarische und vergriffene Bücher. Bei uns finden Sie Tausende professioneller Buchhändler weltweit und Millionen Bücher. Einkaufen beim ZVAB ist einfach und zu 100% sicher — Suchen Sie nach Ihrem Buch, erwerben Sie es über unsere sichere Kaufabwicklung und erhalten Sie ihr Buch direkt vom Händler.

Millionen neuer und gebrauchter Bücher bei tausenden Anbietern

Antiquarische Bücher

Antiquarische Bücher

Von seltenen Erstausgaben bis hin zu begehrten signierten Ausgaben – beim ZVAB finden Sie eine große Anzahl seltener, wertvoller Bücher und Sammlerstücke.

ZVAB Startseite

Erstausgaben

Erstausgaben

Erstausgaben sind besondere Bücher, die den ersten Abdruck des Textes in seiner ursprünglichen Form darstellen. Hier finden sie Erstausgaben von damals bis heute.

Erstausgaben

Gebrauchte Bücher

Gebrauchte Bücher

Ob Bestseller oder Klassiker, das ZVAB bietet Ihnen eine breite Auswahl an gebrauchten Büchern: Stöbern Sie in unseren Rubriken und entdecken Sie ein Buch-Schnäppchen.

Gebrauchte Bücher

Mehr Bücher entdecken