RAIN IN THE WIND: Four Stories.

MARUYA, Saiichi.

Verlag: Kodansha, 1990., 1990
ISBN 10: 0870119400 / ISBN 13: 9780870119408
Gebraucht / Anzahl: 0
Bei weiteren Verkäufern erhältlich
Alle  Exemplare dieses Buches anzeigen

Über dieses Buch

Leider ist dieses Buch nicht mehr verfügbar. Bitte geben Sie Suchbegriffe in das untenstehende Formular ein, um ähnliche Exemplare zu finden.


Hardcover. 1st printing / edition. Translated by Dennis Keene. Near Fine- in Very Good+ dust jacket. Outside edges of the text block are lightly age-toned. Bright, tight and clean; no names, marks or tears, price intact. ISBN: 0870119400. Buchnummer des Verkäufers

Über diesen Titel:

Bewertung (bereitgestellt von Goodreads):
3,61 durchschnittlich
(18 Bewertungen)

Inhaltsangabe: A middle-aged businessman reliving a murderous punch-up that happened in his youth; a chatterbox bar girl cheerfully describing her involvement in a customer's fantasy life; a novelist puzzling over an obsession with tree shadows; and a scholar dabbling irresponsibly in the biography of a famous modern poet.

This is the rich and varied world into which you are invited, a world of only half-solved puzzles for its inhabitants: the scholar, for example, discovers a tragedy in his own past in place of the impersonal facts he sought; the novelist, in his search for the origins of his strange preoccupation, encounters a woman who improbably claims to be his mother. It is a world of brilliant surfaces: satirical, at times to the point of parody; incisive, at times to the point of cruelty. A world also of sudden depths, the mind at last confronting truths it prefers not to acknowledge.

These two short stories and two novellas ("Tree Shadows" was awarded the 1988 Kawabata Prize) make up the second volume of Maruya's fiction to appear in English. His novel Singular Rebellion was acclaimed internationally as "a superb piece of urban fiction." This new collection should serve both to confirm his reputation and to give readers a better idea of the scope of his writing.

Here is a writer who not only sees the profoundly comic side of human life, but subtly reveals--without resorting to that aggressive sentimentalism which makes some Japanese literature so hard for Western readers to take--its pathos: the fact that we are all emigrants from a past we remember only too little of. It haunts us, and we try to reconstruct it, but most of what is important in it escapes us.

When Singular Rebellion appeared, Anthony Burgess generously hailed Maruya as a major comic novelist. With this second volume, the limitation of the word "comic" may, we believe, be dispensed with. Maruya's later A Mature Woman has gone one step further to confirm his reputation.

Über den Autor: Saiichi Maruya (b. 1925) was a professor of English literature before deciding to become a fulltime writer some twenty years ago; he specialized in the twentieth-century novel, his Joyce research being famous. What probably most affected him as a writer, however, was the way the modern English novel could be serious in a light, entertaining manner. He has, for example, translated Graham Greene (among others), but not The Power and the Glory or The Heart of the Matter, but Loser Takes All and It's a Battlefield; i.e., "entertainments" His novel Singular Rebellion--described in The New York Times Book Review as "funny, light on its feet, and providing exceptional insight into the ways of the Japanese" was thus an act of rebellion itself when it first appeared in 1972, going against the mainstream of Japan's sombre, confessional modern literature. Even so, it won the prestigious Tanizaki Prize for that year, and he has since won most other available prizes, being now one of his country's most revered men of letters.

The translator: Dennis Keene, an English poet who has lived and taught in Japan for many years, is known for his distinguished translations of Maruya's Singular Rebellion and Morio Kita's The House of Nire, among other works of Japanese fiction.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Bibliografische Details

Titel: RAIN IN THE WIND: Four Stories.
Verlag: Kodansha, 1990.
Erscheinungsdatum: 1990
Zustand: Fine

ZVAB ist ein Internet-Marktplatz für neue, gebrauchte, antiquarische und vergriffene Bücher. Bei uns finden Sie Tausende professioneller Buchhändler weltweit und Millionen Bücher. Einkaufen beim ZVAB ist einfach und zu 100% sicher — Suchen Sie nach Ihrem Buch, erwerben Sie es über unsere sichere Kaufabwicklung und erhalten Sie ihr Buch direkt vom Händler.

Millionen neuer und gebrauchter Bücher bei tausenden Anbietern

Antiquarische Bücher

Antiquarische Bücher

Von seltenen Erstausgaben bis hin zu begehrten signierten Ausgaben – beim ZVAB finden Sie eine große Anzahl seltener, wertvoller Bücher und Sammlerstücke.

ZVAB Startseite



Erstausgaben sind besondere Bücher, die den ersten Abdruck des Textes in seiner ursprünglichen Form darstellen. Hier finden sie Erstausgaben von damals bis heute.


Gebrauchte Bücher

Gebrauchte Bücher

Ob Bestseller oder Klassiker, das ZVAB bietet Ihnen eine breite Auswahl an gebrauchten Büchern: Stöbern Sie in unseren Rubriken und entdecken Sie ein Buch-Schnäppchen.

Gebrauchte Bücher

Mehr Bücher entdecken