Beispielbild für diese ISBN

The Popes Rhinoceros

Norfolk, Lawrence

399 Bewertungen bei Goodreads
ISBN 10: 1856194132 / ISBN 13: 9781856194136
Verlag: Sinclair Stevenson, 1996
Gebraucht Hardcover
Verkäufer Eastleach Books (Newbury, BER, Vereinigtes Königreich)

AbeBooks Verkäufer seit 4. Oktober 1999

Anzahl: 1

Gebraucht kaufen
Preis: EUR 14,41 Währung umrechnen
Versand: EUR 5,59 Von Vereinigtes Königreich nach USA Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer
In den Warenkorb legen

Beschreibung

Cloth, dj, F/F. 608pp, fine copy in a fine dustjacket. Authors second novel shich tells the strange tale of a quest to secure a Rhinoceros as a gift for Pope Leo X. The story crosses Europe, includes Monks, Durer, and a host of strange twists. 1100 grams. Buchnummer des Verkäufers 21724

Dem Anbieter eine Frage stellen

Bibliografische Details

Titel: The Popes Rhinoceros

Verlag: Sinclair Stevenson

Erscheinungsdatum: 1996

Einband: Hardcover

Zustand des Schutzumschlags: Dust Jacket Included

Auflage: 1st edition..

Über diesen Titel

Inhaltsangabe:

The Pope's Rhinoceros is a vivid, antic, and picaresque novel spun around one of history's most bizarre chapters: the sixteenth-century attempt to procure a rhinoceros as a bribe for Pope Leo X. In February 1516, a Portuguese ship sank off the coast of Italy. The Nostra Senora de Ajuda had sailed fourteen thousand miles from the Indian kingdom of Gujarat. Her mission: to bribe the "pleasure-loving Pope" into favoring expansionist Portugal over her rival Spain with the most exotic and least likely of gifts -- a living rhinoceros. Moving from the herring colonies of the Baltic Sea to the West African rain forest, with a cast of characters including an order of reclusive monks and Rome's corrupt cardinals, courtesans, ambassadors, and nobles, The Pope's Rhinoceros is at once a fantastic adventure tale and a portrait of an age rushing headlong to its crisis.

Review:

In the tradition of Gabriel Garcia Marquez and Umberto Eco, Lawrence Norfolk has created a dizzyingly dense and impressively erudite fantasy of a novel, a vast edifice based around a single, actual historical event: the sinking off the coast of Italy of a Portugese ship bound on a bizarre mission, to deliver an African rhino to Pope Leo X. Norfolk takes his readers on a world tour of the 16th century, from the flophouses of Rome to the rain forest of West Africa, and along the way he piles historical esoterica upon philosophical rumination upon myriad subplots and minor characters. The chains of event and coincidence and the encyclopedic references will exhaust some readers long before the mad quest for the rhino meets its watery end, but Norfolk's baroque talent remains inexhaustible.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Anbieterinformationen

Eastleach Books are based at Private Premises, in the Market Town of Newbury. Originally in the Cotswolds, we have relocated to be able to stock more books. We have no specific specialities and stock items ranging from a few £'s to several thousand. We are not a shop!! MAIL ORDER ONLY!! New stock arriving all the time. Books purchased. Have a nice day & Happy Reading.

Zur Homepage des Verkäufers

Geschäftsbedingungen:

All books are sold on a CWO basis. We can accept - VISA, MASTERCARD, SWITCH, JCB, SOLO - £STERLING CHEQUES, INTERNATIONAL MONEY ORDERS [£STERLING], £STERLING CASH, ¿ EURO CASH, BACS TRANSFER. Any item may be returned for a full refund, but please contact us first.

Eastleach Books - Dan Unwin, 3 Preston Place, Newbury, RG14 2SE, united Kindgdom. tel +44 (0)1635 48444. eastleach@btconnect.com

Versandinformationen:

Shipping is based on a "Standard" size & weight book. so heavier items may mean we need to ask for a little extra to cover postage costs. We ship to all nations. All items are packed individually and to a very high standard. We DO NOT just stick the book in a polythene mailer with a prayer.

Alle Bücher des Anbieters anzeigen

Zahlungsarten
akzeptiert von diesem Verkäufer

Visa Mastercard American Express Carte Bleue

Bar PayPal Bankwechsel Banküberweisung