The Last Song of Dusk

Siddharth Dhanvant Shanghvi

Verlag: Penguin, 2004
ISBN 10: 0670057681 / ISBN 13: 9780670057689
Neu / Hard Cover / Anzahl: 1
Verkäufer Munshiram Manoharlal Publishers Pvt. Ltd (New Delhi, DELHI, Indien)
Bei weiteren Verkäufern erhältlich
Alle  Exemplare dieses Buches anzeigen

Über dieses Buch

Leider ist dieses Exemplar nicht mehr verfügbar. Hier sehen Sie die besten Ergebnisse zur Suche nach The Last Song of Dusk.

Beschreibung:

Pirouetting between laughter and tears, Siddharth Dhanvant Shanghvi's technicolour debut tells the story of four extraordinary lives. Of Anuradha Gandharva, gifted with astonishing beauty and magical songs; of her husband, Vardhmaan, struggling with secret losses; of Nandini, a deviously alluring artist, with a penchant for panthers and walking on water; and of Shloka, the Gandharvas' delicate, disturbingly silent child. As their fates unravel in an old villa in 1920s' India, they learn to navigate the ever-changing landscape of love, and in doing so encounter a host of eccentrics: Mr Bunkusdaas, the father of Bollywood cinema; Stella Dimm, `England's first ever Tit girl'; Libya Dass, rarely seen out of her porcelain bathtub; and Percival Worthington, the aristocratically limp son of the governor of Bombay, on whom Nandini rashly sets her sights. The Last Song of Dusk is a tale of exquisite friendships, immense sacrifices and dangerous desires. Told with tenderness and with dazzling wit, it will haunt you long after you have turned the final page. Printed Pages: 304. Size: 13 Cms x 20 Cms. Buchnummer des Verkäufers 004419

Über diesen Titel:

Inhaltsangabe:

Now available again, the best-selling and award winning novel, called A lush, wildly imaginative fairy tale” (San Francisco Chronicle).
For readers of The White Tiger and The God of Small Things, a dazzling, exuberant, wickedly funny, and moving novel set in post-colonial India that tells tender and enthralling tale of sex, karma, colonialism and, most of all, love in its many guises.
Anuradha Patwardhan is a young woman of such legendary beauty the peacocks line up to bid her farewell when she leaves her family home to meet her future husband. As part of her dowry, she carries with her a gift for singing songs so alluring, it is said even the moon listens. Her suitor, Vardhmaan, is a well-to-do doctor so handsome, serious, and dashing that girls feign fevers to be examined by him. If it seems only a fairy-tale marriage could befit such a couple, The Last Song of Dusk tells the far darker and deeper story of a love shaped by kismet and freighted with tragedy, passion, and loss. When their first child dies in a horrible accident, their lives being to unravel, and they seek to start anew in a heartbroken old villa by the sea, where their second child is born. Into their family comes a willful girl, with a taste for scandal and a trace of leopard blood in her veins. With her in their midst and shaking up Bombay’s status quo, they learn to navigate the ever changing landscape of love.
Written with an exhilarating verve for language and featuring appearances by Gandhi, Virginia Woolf, and the father of Bollywood movies as well as one very malicious parrot The Last Song of Dusk is an outrageously original novel by a writer of enormous talent. A number one best-seller in India, it has received a Betty Trask Award for debut novels in the United Kingdom.
Skyhorse Publishing, as well as our Arcade, Yucca, and Good Books imprints, are proud to publish a broad range of books for readers interested in fiction novels, novellas, political and medical thrillers, comedy, satire, historical fiction, romance, erotic and love stories, mystery, classic literature, folklore and mythology, literary classics including Shakespeare, Dumas, Wilde, Cather, and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.

About the Author:

Siddharth Dhanvant Shanghvi, a born and bred Bombaywallah, was educated in India, England, and America. A past contributor to the San Francisco Chronicle and Elle, he divides his time between the San Francisco Bay Area and Bombay.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Bibliografische Details

Titel: The Last Song of Dusk
Verlag: Penguin
Erscheinungsdatum: 2004
Einband: Hard Cover
Zustand: New
Zustand des Schutzumschlags: New
Auflage: Second Edition.

Beste Suchergebnisse beim ZVAB

1.

D. Shanghvi, Siddharth:
Verlag: Phoenix, (2005)
ISBN 10: 0753818205 ISBN 13: 9780753818206
Gebraucht Taschenbuch Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Book Broker Berlin
(Berlin, Deutschland)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Phoenix, 2005. Taschenbuch. Buchzustand: Gut. 320 Seiten 2004. Saubere Seiten ohne Anstreichungen in fester Bindung. KEIN Mängel-/Restexemplar. Ohne Namenseintrag. Sprache: Englisch Gewicht in Gramm: 222. Artikel-Nr. 660272873

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 7,26
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 12,00
Von Deutschland nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer