Beispielbild für diese ISBN

Island Justice

Winthrop, Elizabeth

86 Bewertungen bei GoodReads
ISBN 10: 0688169686 / ISBN 13: 9780688169688
Verlag: Quill Press, 1999
Gebraucht Zustand Very Good Paperback
Verkäufer Robinson Street Books, IOBA (Binghamton, NY, USA) Anzahl: 1

Bei weiteren Verkäufern erhältlich

Alle  Exemplare dieses Buches anzeigen

0688169686 Very good. Clean text. Email for further information. Quality, Value, Experience. Media Shipped in New Boxes. For further information or scans please call or email. Buchnummer des Verkäufers BINGX83011464

Über diesen Titel:

Inhaltsangabe:

In this compelling, evocative novel set on a small island off the New England coast, Elizabeth Winthrop subtly examines our notions of home.

For Maggie Hammond, home means her beloved godmother, so when Nan dies, the Victorian house she inhabited becomes merely a possession for Maggie to shed. Bur when she meets Sam, the island naturalist, and a dead body rolls up on her beach, she finds herself drawn deeper and deeper into the complex world of the island's winter community.

For Anna Craven, married to an abusive bully, home is fraught with danger and shrouded in secrets. As Anna grows closer to Dennis Lacey, the newly arrived island doctor, gossip flies and the domestic problems long hidden behind closed doors erupt into violence. The tightly knit group of year-rounders are forced to examine the erosive undertow of secrecy that threatens to destroy the island community they call home.

A beautifully observed novel in the tradition of Anne Tyler and Alice Hoffman, Island Justice sets Maggie's struggle to trust the pulls of her heart against the backdrop of a community intent on pursuing its own unique brand of justice.

Über den Autor: Elizabeth Winthrop is the author of In My Mothers' House. Her Short fiction has appeared in Best American Short Stories and Fiction 100. Twice a winner of the PEN Syndicated Fiction Award, she is also the author of over forty books for children, includ-ing the highly acclaimed novel The Castle in the Attic She lives in New York City.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Bibliografische Details

Titel: Island Justice

Verlag: Quill Press

Erscheinungsdatum: 1999

Einband: Paperback

Zustand: Very Good

Zahlungsarten

Zahlungsarten, die dieser Verkäufer akzeptiert

Visa Mastercard American Express Carte Bleue

Money Order Bar PayPal

Verkäufer Robinson Street Books, IOBA
Adresse: Binghamton, NY, USA

AbeBooks Verkäufer seit 31. Dezember 1996
Verkäuferbewertung 5 Sterne

Heritage BooksellerHeritage Bookseller
AbeBooks Mitglied seit 1996


Geschäftsbedingungen:

Robinson Street Books, 184 Robinson Street, Binghamton, NY 13904
Email: info@robinsonstreetbooks.com Phone: 607-217-4328 Within USA: 800-
572-4416 Contact: Rhett Moran

All books are guaranteed to be as described. Books are returnable within 2
weeks. Please notify us before returning a book. All items are offered
subject
to prior sale. ALL AUTOGRAPHS ARE GUARANTEED AUTHENTIC, and if found
otherwise, may be returned by original purchaser, for full refund without
time limit. We accept ALL MAJOR CRE...

[Mehr Information]

Versandinformationen:

Shipping: Media Mail Shipping: $4.49 first book, $1.00 each other. Priority
$7.50 first book $3.00 each other. Some books and sets added postage required.


Anbieterinformationen: Our offices and warehouse are located in Binghamton NY. All of our available books are on-line. We are not open to the public. Local buyers may make appointment to pick up items at our warehouse.

Gebraucht kaufen
Preis: EUR 4,81 Währung umrechnen
Versand: EUR 4,20 Innerhalb USA Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer
In den Warenkorb legen