Beispielbild für diese ISBN

The Halloween Tree

Bradbury, Ray

Verlag: Alfred A. Knopf
ISBN 10: 0394824091 / ISBN 13: 9780394824093
Gebraucht / Hardcover / Anzahl: 1
Verkäufer Robinson Street Books, IOBA (Binghamton, NY, USA)
Bei weiteren Verkäufern erhältlich
Alle  Exemplare dieses Buches anzeigen
In den Warenkorb legen
Preis: EUR 6,88
Währung umrechnen
Versand: EUR 4,00
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

Für später vormerken

Über dieses Buch

Bibliografische Details


Titel: The Halloween Tree

Verlag: Alfred A. Knopf

Einband: Hardcover

Zustand: Fine

Zustand des Schutzumschlags: Dust Jacket Included

Beschreibung:

0394824091 Near fine in near fine dust jacket. Later printing. * Quality, Value, Experience. Media Shipped in New Boxes. Buchnummer des Verkäufers NT761JC300014

Über diesen Titel:

Bewertung (bereitgestellt von Goodreads):
3,9 durchschnittlich
(11.873 Bewertungen)

Inhaltsangabe: ON HALLOWEEN NIGHT, eight trick-or-treaters gather at the haunted house by the edge of town, ready for adventure. But when Something whisks their friend Pip away, only one man, the sinister Carapace Clavicle Moundshroud, can help the boys find him. "If you want to know what Halloween is, or if you simply want an eerie adventure, take this mysteryhistory trip. You couldn't ask for better than master fantasizer Ray Bradbury," raves The Boston Globe.

Originally published in 1972, this handsome hardcover reissue celebrates its 35th anniversary. It's the perfect gift for fans of Harry Potter and Philip Pullman.

Rezension: Special indeed are holiday stories with the right mix of high spirits and subtle mystery to please both adults and children--Charles Dickens's " A Christmas Carol," for example. Or Ray Bradbury's classic The Halloween Tree. Eight boys set out on a Halloween night and are led into the depths of the past by a tall, mysterious character named Moundshroud. They ride on a black wind to autumn scenes in distant lands and times, where they witness other ways of celebrating this holiday about the dark time of year. Bradbury's lyrical prose whooshes along with the pell-mell rhythms of children running at night, screaming and laughing, and the reader is carried along by its sheer exuberance.

Bradbury's stories about children are always attended by dread--of change, adulthood, death. The Halloween Tree, while sweeter than his adult literature, is also touched at moments by the cold specter of loss--which is only fitting, of course, for a holiday in honor of the waning of the sun.

This is a superb book for adults to read to children, a way to teach them, quite painlessly, about customs and imagery related to Halloween from ancient Egypt, Mediterranean cultures, Celtic Druidism, Mexico, and even a cathedral in Paris. (One caveat, though: Bradbury unfortunately perpetuates a couple of misconceptions about Samhain, or summer's end, the Halloween of ancient Celts and contemporary pagans.) This beautiful reprint edition has the original black-and-white illustrations and a new color painting on the dust jacket. --Fiona Webster

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Anbieter- & Zahlungsinformationen

Zahlungsarten

Dieser Anbieter akzeptiert die folgenden Zahlungsarten:

  • American Express
  • Bar
  • Carte Bleue
  • EuroCard/MasterCard
  • Money Order
  • PayPal
  • Visa

[Im Angebot des Anbieters suchen]

[Alle Bücher des Anbieters anzeigen]

[Dem Anbieter eine Frage stellen]

Anbieter: Robinson Street Books, IOBA
Adresse: Binghamton, NY, USA

ZVAB Verkäufer seit 31. Dezember 1996
Bewertung: 4 Sterne

Heritage BooksellerHeritage Bookseller
AbeBooks Mitglied seit 1996

Geschäftsbedingungen:

Robinson Street Books, 184 Robinson Street, Binghamton, NY 13904
Email: info@robinsonstreetbooks.com Phone: 607-217-4328 Within USA: 800-
572-4416 Contact: Rhett Moran

All books are guaranteed to be as described. Books are returnable within 2
weeks. Please notify us before returning a book. All items are offered
subject
to prior sale. ALL AUTOGRAPHS ARE GUARANTEED AUTHENTIC, and if found
otherwise, may be returned by original purchaser, for full refund without
time limit. We accept ALL MAJOR CRE...

[Mehr Information]

Versandinformationen:

Shipping: Media Mail Shipping: $4.49 first book, $1.00 each other. Priority
$7.50 first book $3.00 each other. Some books and sets added postage required.


Anbieterinformationen: Our offices and warehouse are located in Binghamton NY. All of our available books are on-line. We are not open to the public. Local buyers may make appointment to pick up items at our warehouse.