The Halloween Tree

Bradbury, Ray

Verlag: Alfred A. Knopf
ISBN 10: 0394824091 / ISBN 13: 9780394824093
Gebraucht / Hardcover / Anzahl: 0
Bei weiteren Verkäufern erhältlich
Alle  Exemplare dieses Buches anzeigen

Über dieses Buch

Leider ist dieses Exemplar nicht mehr verfügbar. Hier sehen Sie die besten Ergebnisse zur Suche nach The Halloween Tree und Bradbury, Ray.

Beschreibung:

0394824091 Near fine in near fine dust jacket. Later printing. * Quality, Value, Experience. Media Shipped in New Boxes. Buchnummer des Verkäufers

Über diesen Titel:

Bewertung (bereitgestellt von Goodreads):
3,9 durchschnittlich
(12.557 Bewertungen)

Inhaltsangabe: ON HALLOWEEN NIGHT, eight trick-or-treaters gather at the haunted house by the edge of town, ready for adventure. But when Something whisks their friend Pip away, only one man, the sinister Carapace Clavicle Moundshroud, can help the boys find him. "If you want to know what Halloween is, or if you simply want an eerie adventure, take this mysteryhistory trip. You couldn't ask for better than master fantasizer Ray Bradbury," raves The Boston Globe.

Originally published in 1972, this handsome hardcover reissue celebrates its 35th anniversary. It's the perfect gift for fans of Harry Potter and Philip Pullman.

Review: Special indeed are holiday stories with the right mix of high spirits and subtle mystery to please both adults and children--Charles Dickens's "A Christmas Carol," for example. Or Ray Bradbury's classic The Halloween Tree. Eight boys set out on a Halloween night and are led into the depths of the past by a tall, mysterious character named Moundshroud. They ride on a black wind to autumn scenes in distant lands and times, where they witness other ways of celebrating this holiday about the dark time of year. Bradbury's lyrical prose whooshes along with the pell-mell rhythms of children running at night, screaming and laughing, and the reader is carried along by its sheer exuberance.

Bradbury's stories about children are always attended by dread--of change, adulthood, death. The Halloween Tree, while sweeter than his adult literature, is also touched at moments by the cold specter of loss--which is only fitting, of course, for a holiday in honor of the waning of the sun.

This is a superb book for adults to read to children, a way to teach them, quite painlessly, about customs and imagery related to Halloween from ancient Egypt, Mediterranean cultures, Celtic Druidism, Mexico, and even a cathedral in Paris. (One caveat, though: Bradbury unfortunately perpetuates a couple of misconceptions about Samhain, or summer's end, the Halloween of ancient Celts and contemporary pagans.) This beautiful reprint edition has the original black-and-white illustrations and a new color painting on the dust jacket. --Fiona Webster

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Bibliografische Details

Titel: The Halloween Tree
Verlag: Alfred A. Knopf
Einband: Hardcover
Zustand: Fine

Beste Suchergebnisse beim ZVAB

1.

Bradbury, Ray
Verlag: Corgi (1975)
Gebraucht Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Corgi, 1975. sehr gut, UNGELESENE broschierte Ausg. von 1975, Eigentümerstempel im Einband, innen altersbedingt nachgedunkelt - sonst tadellos und nie aufgeschlagen, ENGLISCH, 181 S. Artikel-Nr. 900779

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 20,00
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 7,00
Von Deutschland nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

2.

GRIMLY, Gris.) BRADBURY, Ray.
Verlag: New York: Alfred A. Knopf. 2015 (2015)
Gebraucht Erstausgabe Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Peter Harrington. ABA member
(London, Vereinigtes Königreich)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung New York: Alfred A. Knopf. 2015, 2015. Octavo. Original orange and grey boards, titles to spine in gilt. With the dust jacket. An excellent copy. Gris Grimly illustrations. First Gris Grimly illustrated edition. Artikel-Nr. 106037

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 75,13
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 15,71
Von Vereinigtes Königreich nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer