ISBN 10: 1250063019 / ISBN 13: 9781250063014
Gebraucht / Anzahl: 0
Bei weiteren Verkäufern erhältlich
Alle  Exemplare dieses Buches anzeigen

Über dieses Buch

Leider ist dieses Buch nicht mehr verfügbar. Bitte geben Sie Suchbegriffe in das untenstehende Formular ein, um ähnliche Exemplare zu finden.

Beschreibung:

Buchnummer des Verkäufers

Über diesen Titel:

Bewertung (bereitgestellt von Goodreads):
3,9 durchschnittlich
(570 Bewertungen)

Inhaltsangabe: Freshman Daniel Pratzer gets a chance to prove himself when the chess team invites him and his father to a tournament. Daniel can't understand why his teammates want so badly for them to participate. Then he finds out the truth: As a teen, his father was one of the most promising young players in America, but the pressures of the game pushed him too far. Now, thirty years later, Mr. Pratzer returns to the game to face down an old competitor and the same dark demons that lurk in the corners of a mind stretched by the demands of the game. Daniel was looking for acceptance but the secrets he uncovers about his father will force him to make some surprising moves himself.

Rezension:

Praise for the work of David Klass

"Truly intelligent storytelling for teens."--"The Miami Herald"


"Guys looking for nonstop action . . . will eat this up."--"Kirkus Reviews"


"Incredibly original, vitally important, and one hell of a ride."--David Baldacci

Praise for the work of David Klass

"Daniel learns something about the nature of competition and the values he and his father need to hold dearest in this emotionally taut story."--"Publishers Weekly", STARRED REVIEW

"Truly intelligent storytelling for teens."--"The Miami Herald"


"Guys looking for nonstop action . . . will eat this up."--"Kirkus Reviews"


"Incredibly original, vitally important, and one hell of a ride."--David Baldacci

"Fast-paced, inspired writing." - "Booklist "

* Like "Searching for Bobby Fischer," this novel about competitive chess encapsulates the intensity of the game and the players who become obsessed with it . . . [An] emotionally taut story. "Publishers Weekly, starred review"

Drama unfolds deliberately . . . building up to an exciting, climactic endgame . . . Smart, real, and full of feeling. "School Library Journal"

Fast-paced, inspired writing makes this perfect for fans of John Feinstein's The Sports Beat series. "Booklist"

Klass is in excellent control of his plot, moving swiftly to the tournament action . . . and steadily closing in on the final showdown. "Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books""

* Like Searching for Bobby Fischer, this novel about competitive chess encapsulates the intensity of the game and the players who become obsessed with it . . . [An] emotionally taut story. Publishers Weekly, starred review

Drama unfolds deliberately . . . building up to an exciting, climactic endgame . . . Smart, real, and full of feeling. School Library Journal

Fast-paced, inspired writing makes this perfect for fans of John Feinstein's The Sports Beat series. Booklist

Klass is in excellent control of his plot, moving swiftly to the tournament action . . . and steadily closing in on the final showdown. Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"

"* Like Searching for Bobby Fischer, this novel about competitive chess encapsulates the intensity of the game and the players who become obsessed with it . . . [An] emotionally taut story." --Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Drama unfolds deliberately . . . building up to an exciting, climactic endgame . . . Smart, real, and full of feeling." --School Library Journal

"Fast-paced, inspired writing makes this perfect for fans of John Feinstein's The Sports Beat series." --Booklist

"Klass is in excellent control of his plot, moving swiftly to the tournament action . . . and steadily closing in on the final showdown." --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Bibliografische Details

Zustand: New

ZVAB ist ein Internet-Marktplatz für neue, gebrauchte, antiquarische und vergriffene Bücher. Bei uns finden Sie Tausende professioneller Buchhändler weltweit und Millionen Bücher. Einkaufen beim ZVAB ist einfach und zu 100% sicher — Suchen Sie nach Ihrem Buch, erwerben Sie es über unsere sichere Kaufabwicklung und erhalten Sie ihr Buch direkt vom Händler.

Millionen neuer und gebrauchter Bücher bei tausenden Anbietern

Antiquarische Bücher

Antiquarische Bücher

Von seltenen Erstausgaben bis hin zu begehrten signierten Ausgaben – beim ZVAB finden Sie eine große Anzahl seltener, wertvoller Bücher und Sammlerstücke.

ZVAB Startseite

Erstausgaben

Erstausgaben

Erstausgaben sind besondere Bücher, die den ersten Abdruck des Textes in seiner ursprünglichen Form darstellen. Hier finden sie Erstausgaben von damals bis heute.

Erstausgaben

Gebrauchte Bücher

Gebrauchte Bücher

Ob Bestseller oder Klassiker, das ZVAB bietet Ihnen eine breite Auswahl an gebrauchten Büchern: Stöbern Sie in unseren Rubriken und entdecken Sie ein Buch-Schnäppchen.

Gebrauchte Bücher

Mehr Bücher entdecken