ISBN 10: 0062104470 / ISBN 13: 9780062104472
Gebraucht / Anzahl: 0
Bei weiteren Verkäufern erhältlich
Alle  Exemplare dieses Buches anzeigen

Über dieses Buch

Leider ist dieses Buch nicht mehr verfügbar. Bitte geben Sie Suchbegriffe in das untenstehende Formular ein, um ähnliche Exemplare zu finden.

Beschreibung:

Buchnummer des Verkäufers

Über diesen Titel:

Bewertung (bereitgestellt von Goodreads):
4,13 durchschnittlich
(606 Bewertungen)

Inhaltsangabe:

The Girl from Felony Bay is a fresh, vibrant, funny, and heartwarming debut in the vein of Sheila Turnage's Three Times Lucky and Clare Vanderpool's Moon over Manifest. Set on a southern plantation, it's about a young girl named Abbey, her best friend, Bee, and a hundred-year-old mystery.

The last year has been a rough one for Abbey Force. Her father has been in a coma since his accident, in which he was framed for a terrible crime he didn't commit. And their home, Reward Plantation, had to be sold to pay off his debt to society. So Abbey is stuck living with her Uncle Charlie, who isn't exactly an ideal role model. But things just got more interesting. The new family who moved in to Reward Plantation has a daughter named Bee, and she's just as curious as Abbey is about the No Trespassing signs and holes being dug out of Felony Bay. It seems like someone has been poking around a mystery that dates all the way back to the Civil War--and it just might be the same someone who framed Abbey's father.

Rezension: "Thompson's children's book debut offers mystery and adventure, while simultaneously exploring the far reach of history, justice, race, and family. An ethically nuanced and suspenseful whodunit."--Publishers Weekly

"A tale bursting with intrigue and adventure finds its setting deep in the South Carolina Lowcountry. A successful turn by a promising new author."--Kirkus Reviews

"A character in itself, the South Carolina setting is fully realized with the danger and beauty of its swampy backwoods a factor in every chapter. Future fans of Grisham will find this immensely satisfying, as will readers who were enchanted by Turnage's Three Times Lucky."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"The story never forgets that at its center is a little girl who has lost everything and is more determined than even Nancy Drew."--Booklist

"Thompson takes Southern gothic tropes and incorporates them into a fast-paced mystery with subplots that tackle tough issues."--School Library Journal

"The Girl from Felony Bay is a lovely story. J.E. Thompson has created a wonderful, honest character with a pitch-perfect young girl's voice. Abbey Force's tale will draw any reader in as she unravels long-buried mysteries and struggles to come to terms with the South's dark past."--Katie Crouch, New York Times bestselling author of Girls in Trucks

"I was enthralled by this tale. It's lyrical, touching, and beautifully written. A great debut."--Bernard Cornwell, author of The Winter King

Thompson s children s book debut offers mystery and adventure, while simultaneously exploring the far reach of history, justice, race, and family. An ethically nuanced and suspenseful whodunit. --Publishers Weekly"

A tale bursting with intrigue and adventure finds its setting deep in the South Carolina Lowcountry. A successful turn by a promising new author. --Kirkus Reviews"

A character in itself, the South Carolina setting is fully realized with the danger and beauty of its swampy backwoods a factor in every chapter. Future fans of Grisham will find this immensely satisfying, as will readers who were enchanted by Turnage s Three Times Lucky. --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books"

The story never forgets that at its center is a little girl who has lost everything and is more determined than even Nancy Drew. --Booklist"

Thompson takes Southern gothic tropes and incorporates them into a fast-paced mystery with subplots that tackle tough issues. --School Library Journal"

The Girl from Felony Bay is a lovely story. J.E. Thompson has created a wonderful, honest character with a pitch-perfect young girl s voice. Abbey Force s tale will draw any reader in as she unravels long-buried mysteries and struggles to come to terms with the South s dark past. --Katie Crouch, New York Times bestselling author of Girls in Trucks"

I was enthralled by this tale. It s lyrical, touching, and beautifully written. A great debut. --Bernard Cornwell, author of The Winter King"

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Bibliografische Details

Zustand: New

ZVAB ist ein Internet-Marktplatz für neue, gebrauchte, antiquarische und vergriffene Bücher. Bei uns finden Sie Tausende professioneller Buchhändler weltweit und Millionen Bücher. Einkaufen beim ZVAB ist einfach und zu 100% sicher — Suchen Sie nach Ihrem Buch, erwerben Sie es über unsere sichere Kaufabwicklung und erhalten Sie ihr Buch direkt vom Händler.

Millionen neuer und gebrauchter Bücher bei tausenden Anbietern

Antiquarische Bücher

Antiquarische Bücher

Von seltenen Erstausgaben bis hin zu begehrten signierten Ausgaben – beim ZVAB finden Sie eine große Anzahl seltener, wertvoller Bücher und Sammlerstücke.

ZVAB Startseite

Erstausgaben

Erstausgaben

Erstausgaben sind besondere Bücher, die den ersten Abdruck des Textes in seiner ursprünglichen Form darstellen. Hier finden sie Erstausgaben von damals bis heute.

Erstausgaben

Gebrauchte Bücher

Gebrauchte Bücher

Ob Bestseller oder Klassiker, das ZVAB bietet Ihnen eine breite Auswahl an gebrauchten Büchern: Stöbern Sie in unseren Rubriken und entdecken Sie ein Buch-Schnäppchen.

Gebrauchte Bücher

Mehr Bücher entdecken