ISBN 10: 1400068541 / ISBN 13: 9781400068548
Gebraucht / Anzahl: 0
Bei weiteren Verkäufern erhältlich
Alle  Exemplare dieses Buches anzeigen

Über dieses Buch

Leider ist dieses Buch nicht mehr verfügbar. Bitte geben Sie Suchbegriffe in das untenstehende Formular ein, um ähnliche Exemplare zu finden.

Beschreibung:

Buchnummer des Verkäufers

Über diesen Titel:

Bewertung (bereitgestellt von GoodReads):
3,8 durchschnittlich
(96 Bewertungen)

Inhaltsangabe: In a book perfect for readers of Charles Duhigg?s The Power of Habit, David Eagleman?s Incognito, and Leonard Mlodinow?s Subliminal, the cognitive neuroscientists who discovered how the brain has aha moments?sudden creative insights?explain how they happen, when we need them, and how we can have more of them to enrich our lives and empower personal and professional success.
 
Eureka or aha moments are sudden realizations that expand our understanding of the world and ourselves, conferring both personal growth and practical advantage. Such creative insights, as psychological scientists call them, were what conveyed an important discovery in the science of genetics to Nobel laureate Barbara McClintock, the melody of a Beatles ballad to Paul McCartney, and an understanding of the cause of human suffering to the Buddha. But these moments of clarity are not given only to the famous. Anyone can have them.
 
In The Eureka Factor, John Kounios and Mark Beeman explain how insights arise and what the scientific research says about stimulating more of them. They discuss how various conditions affect the likelihood of your having an insight, when insight is helpful and when deliberate methodical thought is better suited to a task, what the relationship is between insight and intuition, and how the brain?s right hemisphere contributes to creative thought.
 
Written in a lively, engaging style, this book goes beyond scientific principles to offer productive techniques for realizing your creative potential?at home and at work. The authors provide compelling anecdotes to illustrate how eureka experiences can be a key factor in your life. Attend a dinner party with Christopher Columbus to learn why we need insights. Go to a baseball game with the director of a classic Disney Pixar movie to learn about one important type of aha moment. Observe the behind-the-scenes arrangements for an Elvis Presley concert to learn why the timing of insights makes them difficult to use but crucial to study.
 
Accessible and compelling, The Eureka Factor is a fascinating look at the human brain and its seemingly infinite capacity to surprise us.
 
Advance praise for The Eureka Factor
 
? The Eureka Factor presents a fascinating and illuminating account of the creative process and how to foster it.? ?James J. Heckman, Nobel laureate in economics, Henry Schultz Distinguished Service Professor, University of Chicago
 
?A vigorous voyage inside the mind to understand those electrifying but elusive moments of discovery?and how we can have them more often.? ?Adam Grant, professor, Wharton School, and New York Times bestselling author of Give and Take
 
? The Eureka Factor is a highly engaging and informative look into sudden creative insights. John Kounios and Mark Beeman convincingly show that what once seemed to be a mysterious feature of the human mind is yielding to dramatic advances in the fields of psychology and neuroscience. Combining state-of-the-art research with compelling everyday examples, this book is essential reading for anyone who has ever wondered what makes it possible to experience an aha moment.? ?Daniel L. Schacter, William R. Kenan, Jr., Professor of Psychology, Harvard University, and author of The Seven Sins of Memory
 
?Kounios and Beeman bring insight down to earth in the best of all possible ways. They offer a whirlwind tour through fascinating examples and cutting-edge science to reveal the essence of the aha moment.? ?Deborah Prentice, dean of the faculty, professor of psychology and public affairs, Princeton University

Über den Autor: John Kounios, Ph.D., is a professor of psychology at Drexel University and director of its doctoral program in Applied Cognitive and Brain Sciences. He has published cognitive neuroscience research on insight, creativity, problem solving, memory, and Alzheimer?s disease. His research has been funded by the National Institutes of Health and the National Science Foundation. He is a fellow of the Association for Psychological Science and the Psychonomic Society and serves on a National Science Foundation advisory panel.
 
Mark Beeman, Ph.D., is a professor of psychology at Northwestern University, where he studies the brain bases of creative cognition and problem solving, how mood affects attention and cognition, and how the right and left sides of the brain differ in function. His research has been funded by the National Institutes of Health, the National Science Foundation, the John Templeton Foundation, and the Office of Naval Research. He is a Kavli fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, a fellow of the Association for Psychological Science, and serves on a National Science Foundation advisory panel.
 
Kounios and Beeman?s research on insight has been featured in The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Times (U.K.), as well as on National Public Radio and in a BBC Television documentary. Their work was profiled in The New Yorker and is part of an exhibit at Chicago?s Museum of Science and Industry.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Bibliografische Details

Zustand: New

ZVAB ist ein Internet-Marktplatz für neue, gebrauchte, antiquarische und vergriffene Bücher. Bei uns finden Sie Tausende professioneller Buchhändler weltweit und Millionen Bücher. Einkaufen beim ZVAB ist einfach und zu 100% sicher — Suchen Sie nach Ihrem Buch, erwerben Sie es über unsere sichere Kaufabwicklung und erhalten Sie ihr Buch direkt vom Händler.

Millionen neuer und gebrauchter Bücher bei tausenden Anbietern

Antiquarische Bücher

Antiquarische Bücher

Von seltenen Erstausgaben bis hin zu begehrten signierten Ausgaben – beim ZVAB finden Sie eine große Anzahl seltener, wertvoller Bücher und Sammlerstücke.

ZVAB Startseite

Erstausgaben

Erstausgaben

Erstausgaben sind besondere Bücher, die den ersten Abdruck des Textes in seiner ursprünglichen Form darstellen. Hier finden sie Erstausgaben von damals bis heute.

Erstausgaben

Gebrauchte Bücher

Gebrauchte Bücher

Ob Bestseller oder Klassiker, das ZVAB bietet Ihnen eine breite Auswahl an gebrauchten Büchern: Stöbern Sie in unseren Rubriken und entdecken Sie ein Buch-Schnäppchen.

Gebrauchte Bücher

Mehr Bücher entdecken