Beispielbild für diese ISBN

The Determined Days: Poems (Sewanee Writers' Series)

Stephens, Philip

20 Bewertungen bei GoodReads
ISBN 10: 1585670146 / ISBN 13: 9781585670147
Verlag: Overlook Hardcover
Gebraucht Zustand Fine Hardcover
Verkäufer Robinson Street Books, IOBA (Binghamton, NY, USA) Anzahl: 3

Bei weiteren Verkäufern erhältlich

Alle  Exemplare dieses Buches anzeigen

1585670146 First edition. Fine in fine dust jacket. Quality, Value, Experience. Media Shipped in New Boxes. For further information or scans please call or email. Buchnummer des Verkäufers BING42918

Über diesen Titel:

Inhaltsangabe:

A remarkable debut collection of poems in the tradition of Browning and Frost

The latest in the Sewanee Writer's Series published by the Overlook Press, Philip Stephens's The Determined Days presents far-ranging urban and rural locales in the Midwest, the Ozarks, and northern California. In each of these bleak landscapes, Stephens introduces us to a host of unforgettable characters: a former gravedigger who believes ghosts stole his first-born; a young couple forced to stay the night at a motel run by a pornography-watching desk clerk; a woman haunted by a headless deer; a gang of railroad signalmen who get through their exhausting workdays by telling stories, arguing, and vying for what power they can gain in an indifferent world.

Throughout this stunning collection, characters tell tales to bring order to their disappointing and already-determined days. Ironic, sometimes tragic, and always provocative, The Determined Days is a startling reevaluation of the ideas of labor, life, and relationships--as well as the expectations of contemporary American poetry.

"These vigorous, sometimes brutal, poems are famillialy related as well as indebted to Frost's blank verse.... Read as a whole--as they should be--the cumulative effect of this truly accomplished collections is powerful, disturbing, and authoritative. I am filled with admiration for Mr. Stephens's work."--Anthony Hecht

Über den Autor: Philip Stephens is the author of the poetry collection The Determined Days, which was a finalist for the PEN Center USA West Literary Award. His work as appeared in The Oxford American, Southwest Review, and Bomb, among other publications, as well as in Da Capo Best Music Writing 2004. He lives with his wife and sons in Kansas City, Missouri.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Bibliografische Details

Titel: The Determined Days: Poems (Sewanee Writers'...

Verlag: Overlook Hardcover

Einband: Hardcover

Zustand: Fine

Zustand des Schutzumschlags: Dust Jacket Included

Auflage: 1st Edition

Zahlungsarten

Zahlungsarten, die dieser Verkäufer akzeptiert

Visa Mastercard American Express Carte Bleue

Money Order Bar PayPal

Verkäufer Robinson Street Books, IOBA
Adresse: Binghamton, NY, USA

AbeBooks Verkäufer seit 31. Dezember 1996
Verkäuferbewertung 5 Sterne

Heritage BooksellerHeritage Bookseller
AbeBooks Mitglied seit 1996


Geschäftsbedingungen:

Robinson Street Books, 184 Robinson Street, Binghamton, NY 13904
Email: info@robinsonstreetbooks.com Phone: 607-217-4328 Within USA: 800-
572-4416 Contact: Rhett Moran

All books are guaranteed to be as described. Books are returnable within 2
weeks. Please notify us before returning a book. All items are offered
subject
to prior sale. ALL AUTOGRAPHS ARE GUARANTEED AUTHENTIC, and if found
otherwise, may be returned by original purchaser, for full refund without
time limit. We accept ALL MAJOR CRE...

[Mehr Information]

Versandinformationen:

Shipping: Media Mail Shipping: $4.49 first book, $1.00 each other. Priority
$7.50 first book $3.00 each other. Some books and sets added postage required.


Anbieterinformationen: Our offices and warehouse are located in Binghamton NY. All of our available books are on-line. We are not open to the public. Local buyers may make appointment to pick up items at our warehouse.

Gebraucht kaufen
Preis: EUR 8,00 Währung umrechnen
Versand: EUR 4,22 Innerhalb USA Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer
In den Warenkorb legen