ISBN 10: 0062386026 / ISBN 13: 9780062386021
Gebraucht / Anzahl: 0
Bei weiteren Verkäufern erhältlich
Alle  Exemplare dieses Buches anzeigen

Über dieses Buch

Leider ist dieses Exemplar nicht mehr verfügbar. Wir haben Ihnen weitere Exemplare dieses Titels unten aufgelistet.

Beschreibung:

Buchnummer des Verkäufers

Über diesen Titel:

Bewertung (bereitgestellt von Goodreads):
3,75 durchschnittlich
(554 Bewertungen)

Inhaltsangabe:

A crackling, highly imaginative thriller debut in the vein of W.E.B. Griffin and Philip Kerr, set in German-occupied London at the close of World War II, in which a hardened British detective jeopardizes his own life to save an innocent soul and achieve the impossible—redemption.

London, 1946. The Nazis have conquered the British, and now occupy Great Britain, using brutality and fear to control its citizens. John Henry Rossett, a decorated British war hero and former police sergeant, has been reassigned to the Office of Jewish Affairs. He now answers to the SS, one of the most powerful and terrifying organizations in the Third Reich.

Rossett is a man accustomed to obeying commands, but he’s now assigned a job he did not ask for—and cannot refuse: rounding up Jews for deportation, including men and women he’s known his whole life. But they are not the only victims, for the war took Rossett’s wife and son, and shattered his own humanity.

Then he finds Jacob, a young Jewish child, hiding in an abandoned building, who touches something in Rossett that he thought was long dead.

Determined to save the innocent boy, Rossett takes him on the run, with the Nazis in pursuit. But they are not the only hunters following his trail. The Royalist Resistance and the Communists want him, too. Each faction has its own agenda, and Rossett will soon learn that none of them can be trusted . . . and all of them are deadly. 

From the Back Cover:

In this crackling, highly imaginative thriller debut in the vein of W.E.B. Griffin and Philip Kerr, set in German-occupied London at the close of World War II, a hardened, dispirited British detective jeopardizes his own life to save someone else and achieve the impossible—some kind of redemption

London, 1946. The Nazis have won the war and now occupy Great Britain, using brutality and fear to control its citizens. They even use it to control those who work for them. John Henry Rossett, a decorated British war hero and former police sergeant, is one of those unlucky souls. He's a man accustomed to obeying commands, but he's now assigned a job he didn't ask for and knows he cannot refuse: rounding up Jews for deportation, including men and women he's known his whole life. Robbed of his family by a Resistance bomb, and robbed of his humanity by the work he is forced to do, fate suddenly presents Rossett with an unexpected challenge that could change everything. He finds a boy hiding in an abandoned building and is faced with a momentous decision—to do something or to look the other way. Yet whatever Rossett does, he will be pushed into a place where he could endanger all he holds dear.

Played out against a city in ruin, a place divided between the conquered and the conquerors, The Darkest Hour is a tense, driving adventure thriller, a fascinating alternate history, and the unforgettable story of a man who will be broken—or be given a completely new lease on life.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Bibliografische Details

Zustand: New

Beste Suchergebnisse beim ZVAB

1.

Tony Schumacher
Verlag: William Morrow (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062386026 ISBN 13: 9780062386021
Gebraucht Taschenbuch Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Rheinberg-Buch
(Bergisch Gladbach, Deutschland)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung William Morrow, 2014. Taschenbuch. Buchzustand: Gebraucht. Gebraucht - Gut - STOP PRESS JANUARY 2015 432 pp. Englisch. Artikel-Nr. INF3003385762

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 2,62
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 17,13
Von Deutschland nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

2.

Tony Schumacher
Verlag: William Morrow (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062386026 ISBN 13: 9780062386021
Gebraucht Softcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
World of Rare Books
(Goring-by-Sea, WTSX, Vereinigtes Königreich)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung William Morrow, 2014. Buchzustand: Good. 2014. 415 pages. Signed by the author. Blue pictorial card cover. pictorial dust jacket and boards with Elizabeth and Bill. Good clean pages with bright copy and firm binding. Light tanning to endpapers and page edges. Card is lightly rub worn and thumbed with some light shelf wear to edges and corners, creases to corners. Artikel-Nr. 1507124519ANM

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 31,14
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 5,43
Von Vereinigtes Königreich nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer