Beispielbild für diese ISBN

THE DARK CLUE

Wilson, James

115 Bewertungen bei Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0571202713 / ISBN 13: 9780571202713
Verlag: Faber & Faber, 2001
Gebraucht Zustand: Very Good Softcover
Verkäufer Robinson Street Books, IOBA (Binghamton, NY, USA)

Heritage Bookseller
AbeBooks Mitglied seit 1996

Anzahl: 1

Gebraucht kaufen
Preis: EUR 7,00 Währung umrechnen
Versand: EUR 4,24 Innerhalb USA Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer
In den Warenkorb legen

Beschreibung

0571202713 First edition. Slight warp from storage else very good. Quality, Value, Experience. Media Shipped in New Boxes. Buchnummer des Verkäufers BING887R15038

Dem Anbieter eine Frage stellen

Bibliografische Details

Titel: THE DARK CLUE

Verlag: Faber & Faber

Erscheinungsdatum: 2001

Einband: Paperback

Zustand:Very Good

Auflage: 1st Edition

Über diesen Titel

Inhaltsangabe:

Inspired by the Victorian sensation novel, James Wilson's first novel, The Dark Clue, is a portrait of the age in all of its staggering extremes, as inventive and multifaceted as the oil paintings of J. M. W. Turner, the elusive genius who lies at the thriller's heart. When Walter Hartright -- the sheltered, upright character from Wilkie Collins's classic mystery novel The Woman in White -- is hired to write a biography of England's great Romantic landscape artist, he discovers the "dark clue" hidden deep within Turner's brilliant paintings. Obsessed with reconstructing a life that is shrouded in mystery, Walter seeks help from a Dickensian assemblage including the visionary John Ruskin, the haughty aristocrats, the desperate, and the criminal. Soon enough, Walter uncovers evidence of unspeakable depravity, but can the truth behind Turner's myth be freed from a rapidly expanding web of conspiracy? Only Walter's capable and loving Halcombe can hope to rescue him from the harrowing downward spiral that follows. James Wilson's first book, The Earth Shall Weep, established him as a groundbreaking historian and evocative storyteller. His debut novel plumbs the myth of creative genius, offering a startling commentary on truth seeking and recording history. In the tradition of John Fowles's The French Lieutenant's Woman and Charles Palliser's The Quincunx, The Dark Clue is a masterful fiction debut from one of the original voices of our time.

About the Author:

James Wilson has written plays, TV documentaries (including the award-winning Savagery and the American Indian for the BBC) and a critically-acclaimed history of Native Americans, The Earth Shall Weep. His three previous novels were The Dark Clue, The Bastard Boy and, most recently, The Woman in the Picture, described by Kate Saunders in The Times as 'a multi-layered, deeply absorbing and entertaining novel'.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Anbieterinformationen

Our offices and warehouse are located in Binghamton NY. All of our available books are on-line. We are not open to the public. Local buyers may make appointment to pick up items at our warehouse.

Zur Homepage des Verkäufers

Geschäftsbedingungen:

Robinson Street Books, 184 Robinson Street, Binghamton, NY 13904
Email: info@robinsonstreetbooks.com Phone: 607-217-4328 Within USA: 800-
572-4416 Contact: Rhett Moran

All books are guaranteed to be as described. Books are returnable within 2
weeks. Please notify us before returning a book. All items are offered
subject
to prior sale. ALL AUTOGRAPHS ARE GUARANTEED AUTHENTIC, and if found
otherwise, may be returned by original purchaser, for full refund without
time limit. We accept ALL MAJOR CRE...

Mehr Information
Versandinformationen:

Shipping: Media Mail Shipping: $4.49 first book, $1.00 each other. Priority
$7.50 first book $3.00 each other. Some books and sets added postage required.

Alle Bücher des Anbieters anzeigen

Zahlungsarten
akzeptiert von diesem Verkäufer

Visa Mastercard American Express Carte Bleue

Money Order Bar PayPal