No Bones

Burns, Anna

Verlag: W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN 10: 039332303X / ISBN 13: 9780393323030
Gebraucht / PAPERBACK / Anzahl: 0
Bei weiteren Verkäufern erhältlich
Alle  Exemplare dieses Buches anzeigen

Über dieses Buch

Leider ist dieses Exemplar nicht mehr verfügbar. Hier sehen Sie die besten Ergebnisse zur Suche nach No Bones und Burns, Anna.

Beschreibung:

039332303X Near fine in near fine dust jacket. First edition Quality, Value, Experience. Media Shipped in New Boxes. For further information or scans please call or email. Buchnummer des Verkäufers

Über diesen Titel:

Bewertung (bereitgestellt von GoodReads):
3,14 durchschnittlich
(142 Bewertungen)

Inhaltsangabe:

A shattering and blackly funny debut in the tradition of Roddy Doyle, No Bones follows a young woman growing up in a Belfast beset by the Troubles.

This is a book about feelings, family, sex, and Ireland?but don't tell Amelia that. She's the one growing up in the mad family, in the mad society, who doesn't want to know what's going on. But things are going on: eight-year-olds collecting very peculiar treasure; babies who might be, or might not be, bombs; schoolgirls bringing guns into schoolyards; and, of course, lots of food and bad, bad sex. If Amelia is to live she needs to change. Can she, though, in a place where people don't know how to look after themselves, and so wouldn't know how to look after one another?

Rezension: No Bones, Anna Burns's magnificent debut, is a heartbreaking but astonishingly funny account of growing up in Belfast during the "Troubles." Without meaning to diminish this wonderful and inventive work, it's possibly more accurate to describe it as a series of interlocking stories rather than a novel. At its center is Amelia Lovett, a naïve, sensitive girl who matures, although never losing her youthful incredulity, as the book progresses. Her often tragic life story is recounted through an array of characters, vernacular voices, and episodes that with mordant humour track the sheer brutality of the era. Burns unflinchingly portrays the casualness, even banality, of the violence. The 9-year-old Amelia easily drifts from collecting buttons to plastic bullets; teenage girls shoot each other in the playground; wayward youths are kneecapped, and even a walk home from a disco can result in a "protracted, grisly and truly awful end."

What Burns manages to capture, through comic exaggeration, is a real sense of how fragile the boundaries of normality are. The sectarian killings are matched by equally senseless domestic feuds and conflicts. Amelia's mother's observation that "she could see that beating the crap out of her sister was one thing; kicking an IRA man to death or nearly was another" offers a measure of just how distorted their values have become. Amelia reacts to the madness around her by internalizing the violence, choosing to harm herself rather than others: first by becoming an anorexic and then an alcoholic. Burns has produced a compassionate, bitterly acute, witty portrait of the darkest days of Northern Ireland's history. No Bones could well emerge as Belfast's Dubliners. --Travis Elborough, Amazon.co.uk

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Bibliografische Details

Titel: No Bones
Verlag: W. W. Norton & Company
Einband: PAPERBACK
Zustand: Fine

Beste Suchergebnisse beim ZVAB

1.

Burns, Anna
Verlag: W W Norton & Co Inc, Scranton, Pennsylvania, U.S.A. (2002)
Gebraucht Original Wraps Erstausgabe Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Robinson Street Books, IOBA
(Binghamton, NY, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung W W Norton & Co Inc, Scranton, Pennsylvania, U.S.A., 2002. Original Wraps. Buchzustand: Fine. First Edition. Fine Quality, Value, Experience. Media Shipped in New Boxes. Artikel-Nr. MAY407

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 9,50
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 4,14
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer