Cleaning Up New York: The 1970s Cult Classic

3,58 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 86 Bewertungen bei Goodreads )
 
9781936941131: Cleaning Up New York: The 1970s Cult Classic
Alle Exemplare der Ausgabe mit dieser ISBN anzeigen:
 
 
Críticas:

"I first read Cleaning Up New York when it was published in the 1970s and I've been recommending it to people ever since. It's one of those great, rare works the style of which--immaculate, with unexpected descriptor glints, and funny, low-key frankness--perfectly embodies its subject, namely the revelation of soft shine in humble corners of New York. it's a miracle and you don't have to be clean to appreciate it.
--Richard Hell

"Bob Rosenthal's Cleaning Up New York is a perfect little gem of a book. There is not one wasted or misplaced word in this chronicle, which manages to contain an awful lot of the world in its few pages. It's not only about the city and its range of denizens, but also about the art of living, the satisfaction of humble work, the way poetry arises from daily experience. and if that weren't enough, it also includes really useful advice about cleaning!
--Luc Sante

"[Cleaning Up New York] is one of the great neglected books of the 1970s, a classic short essay...it's brilliant and playful...and eminently practical, too."--The Endless Bookshelf blog

Praise for Straight Around Allen
"Bob Rosenthal's unique, remarkable, and candid recollections of two decades working as secretary for Allen...are, quite frankly, essential reading."--The Allen Ginsberg Project blog

Reseña del editor:

Cleaning Up New York has been a word-of-mouth cult classic since it was first published in 1976 in an edition of 750.
 
The East Village, NYC, 1976. A twenty-six-year-old starving poet needs $60. What else to do but register with a temp agency as a house cleaner? The excitement never wanes as he is catapulted into the everyday yet unimaginable worlds behind closed (apartment) doors.
 
Bob knows one thing: Dirt will always win. Clients are a bit more unpredictable, he discovers, as he comes to terms with eccentric domestic habits and intimate dramas; weird vibes and strange discoveries; appreciation, dependency, dismissal. . . and seduction.
 
Even if he’s asked to clean up a loft the size of the Strand—and he is, and it’s above the legendary bookstore—he coffees up with a doughnut, fortifies himself with some (pocketed) weed, and sets out anew, with disarming insight, originality, and humor.
 
With alternate chapters devoted to practical cleaning tips, Cleaning Up New Yorkis a quirky reinvention in the tradition of George Orwell’s Down and Out in Paris andLondon, Studs Terkel’s chronicles of the working class, and Mrs. Beeton’s Book ofHousehold Management—its narrator a spiritual descendant of Candide, Ida Tarbell, and Holden Caulfield.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Neu kaufen Angebot ansehen

Versand: EUR 29,50
Von Deutschland nach USA

Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

In den Warenkorb

Weitere beliebte Ausgaben desselben Titels

9780935992274: Cleaning Up New York

Vorgestellte Ausgabe

ISBN 10:  0935992278 ISBN 13:  9780935992274
Verlag: Angel Hair Books, 1976, 1976
Softcover

Beste Suchergebnisse beim ZVAB

1.

Bob Rosenthal
Verlag: Random House LCC US Apr 2016 (2016)
ISBN 10: 1936941139 ISBN 13: 9781936941131
Neu Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
AHA-BUCH GmbH
(Einbeck, Deutschland)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Random House LCC US Apr 2016, 2016. Buch. Zustand: Neu. Neuware - THE EAST VILLAGE, NYC, 1976 . A 26-year-old starving poet needs $60. What else to do but register with a temp agency as a house cleaner The excitement never wanes as he is catapulted into the everyday yet unimaginable worlds behind closed (apartment) doors. Bob knows one thing: the dirt will always win. Clients are a bit more unpredictable, he discovers, as he comes to terms with eccentric domestic habits and strange discoveries. When Bob becomes a weekly fixture in his clients' lives, anything can happen, and does, including a memorable encounter with an obliging Hoover that ultimately proves unable to get the job done. Cleaning Up New York has been a cult classic since it was first published in 1976 in an edition of 750. 72 pp. Englisch. Artikel-Nr. 9781936941131

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 12,00
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 29,50
Von Deutschland nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer