Follow the Money: A Month in the Life of a Ten-Dollar Bill

3,39 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 155 Bewertungen bei GoodReads )
 
9781908526090: Follow the Money: A Month in the Life of a Ten-Dollar Bill
Rezension:

‘Thoroughly enjoyable debut, in the vein of Louis Theroux and Jon Ronson, which gives us an intelligent and humorous portrait of an America tourists rarely see’

( The Bookseller )

'I absolutely loved this book'

( Frank Cottrell Boyce )

'An interesting book from an exciting new publisher'

( Conde Nast Traveller )

‘A compelling, inspiring and oddly reassuring portrait of modern America. Fantastic debut.'

( Time Out 5-Star Review )

'Its randomness is its joy'

( Independent )

'A picaresque travelogue about chasing an idea through down-home modern America.'

( The Times )

'Steve Boggan's quest to plant a ten dollar bill into the heart of America...is an astute one.'

( We Love This Book )

'The strength of Boggan's writing is the clear, clean and non-judgemental prose style that lets the remarkable and disparate lives of those he encounters speak for themselves. Heart-warming, fascinating stuff.'

( Big Issue )

‘A terrific read’

( Rosie Boycott )

'I can't remember reading a book where the author is continually making fun of himself yet becomes more and more admirable and likeable as the book goes on. He has created a cast of interesting and entertaining characters that are vivid, memorable, and a pleasure to hang out with. The book is an unexpected delight' ( Luke Rhinehart/George Cockcroft, The Dice Man. )

Vom Verlag:

'I can't remember reading a book where the author is continually making fun of himself yet becomes more and more admirable and likeable as the book goes on. He has created a cast of interesting and entertaining characters that are vivid, memorable, and a pleasure to hang out with. The book is an unexpected delight' - Luke Rhinehart/George Cockcroft, The Dice Man

What do you do if you want to get underneath the skin of a country – to understand its people and feel its heartbeat? You can follow the rest of the tourists, or you can take the advice of Watergate reporter Bob Woodward’s source, Deep Throat, and ‘follow the money’.

Steve Boggan did just that by setting free a ten-dollar bill and accompanying it on an epic journey for thirty days and thirty nights across 3,300 miles armed only with a sense of humour and a small, and increasingly grubby, set of clothes.

As he cuts crops with farmers in Kansas, pursues a repo woman from Colorado, gets wasted with a blues band in Arkansas and hangs out at a quarterback’s mansion in St Louis, Boggan enters the lives of ordinary (and extraordinary) people as they receive – and pass on – the bill. Add to that the missionaries from Missouri, the Amish in Michigan, the banker from Chicago and the deer hunters from Detroit, and what emerges is a chaotic, affectionate and funny portrait of a modern-day America that tourists rarely see.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

(Keine Angebote verfügbar)

Buch Finden:



Kaufgesuch aufgeben

Sie kennen Autor und Titel des Buches und finden es trotzdem nicht auf ZVAB? Dann geben Sie einen Suchauftrag auf und wir informieren Sie automatisch, sobald das Buch verfügbar ist!

Kaufgesuch aufgeben