Greenslade, Frances Shelter

ISBN 13: 9781844087860

Shelter

3,7 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 1.568 Bewertungen bei GoodReads )
 
9781844087860: Shelter
Vom Verlag:

Maggie's father is 'Mr Safety'. He knows the woods of Duchess Creek in Northern Canada like the back of his hand, and he has taught his daughter how to survive, how to find and make a shelter in all weathers, in any conditions. Along with her sister, Jenny, and their mother Irene, they are safe from the outside world. But when an accident at work goes fatally wrong, Irene struggles to look after her daughters alone. Wild, imaginative and unpredictable, she billets the two girls with a family, promising to return once the summer is over and she has earned more money. But the summer turns to winter, which rolls round again and again. When the letters stop, the two sisters realise that they can rely on no one but themselves - but what kind of shelter can two young girls make for themselves?

Klappentext:

'Yearning and beautifully articulate work...intensely realised in a combination of family saga, local superstition and love for the blue summers and deep winters of this remote region.'

Catherine Taylor, Guardian

Maggie's father is 'Mr Safety'. He has taught his daughter how to survive, how to find and make a shelter in all weathers, in any conditions. But when an accident at work goes fatally wrong, Maggie's mother struggles to look after her two daughters alone. Wild, imaginative and unpredictable, she billets the two girls with a family, promising to return once the summer is over. But the summer turns to winter, which rolls round again and again, and soon the two sisters realise that they can rely on no one but themselves - but what kind of shelter can two young girls make for themselves?

'Stunning . . . gripping coming-of-age-early story'

Erikka Askeland, The Scotsman

'A heart-breaking novel about growing up, and about the difficulty of truly knowing our parents' Psychologies

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Neu kaufen Angebot ansehen

Versand: EUR 29,50
Von Deutschland nach USA

Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

In den Warenkorb

Beste Suchergebnisse beim ZVAB

1.

Greenslade, Frances
Verlag: Brown Book Group Little Sep 2013 (2013)
ISBN 10: 1844087867 ISBN 13: 9781844087860
Neu Taschenbuch Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
AHA-BUCH GmbH
(Einbeck, Deutschland)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Brown Book Group Little Sep 2013, 2013. Taschenbuch. Buchzustand: Neu. 205x128x25 mm. Neuware - A novel about love, mothering and home, set in Northern Canada. A debut, it will appeal to fans of Marilynne Robinson and Poppy Adams. 376 pp. Englisch. Artikel-Nr. 9781844087860

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Neu kaufen
EUR 9,99
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 29,50
Von Deutschland nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer