William Lashner The Accounting

ISBN 13: 9781611099355

The Accounting

3,89 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 1.204 Bewertungen bei Goodreads )
 
9781611099355: The Accounting

Jon Willing was just a teenager when he and his pals Augie and Ben stole a fortune in drug money. Brazen with youth and stoned out of their gourds, they thought they had the perfect plan for getting away with it.

They were wrong.

Twenty-five years later, Jon’s marriage is on the rocks, his kids are virtual strangers, and the recession has taken his job and decimated his finances. Worst of all, when he finds Augie murdered in Vegas, he knows the past has risen from its grave to grab him by the throat.

The battle that ensues will send Jon skittering across a landscape wracked by the Great Recession to confront the demons of his past: the grade-school bully who has terrorized him for decades, the grandfather that betrayed him, the girl that got away. And in the middle of a fight to death, with his daughter’s life hanging in the balance, Jon Willing learns the most brutal of truths:

The piper always gets paid, and sometimes he gets paid in blood.

Die Inhaltsangabe kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

About the Author:

William Lashner is the New York Times–bestselling creator of Victor Carl, who has been praised by Booklist as one of mystery’s “most compelling, most morally ambiguous characters.” His crime novels include Blood and Bone, Killer’s Kiss, Marked Man, Fatal Flaw, and Hostile Witness. His novel Kockroach, published under the name Tyler Knox, was a New York Times Book Review Editor’s Choice for fiction. A former prosecutor with the Department of Justice and a graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, his work has sold worldwide and been translated into more than a dozen languages.

From Booklist:

Mortgage broker Jon Willing rode the real-estate wave to the height of suburban envy, obsessively burying any links to his past. For the past 20-plus years, his life has been consumed with concealing the fact that he and his friends Augie and Ben stole more than a million dollars of a biker gang’s drug money. Sealed together by the theft, they vowed to check in weekly to report any sign of exposure. When Augie doesn’t call in, Jon’s investigation reveals his friend’s tortured body and freshly ransacked home. Just seconds ahead of the hitmen, Jon warns Ben and starts running. Minutes from faking his death, Jon realizes he can’t abandon his family, even though it’s disintegrating under the weight of his dishonesty. His only option is to discover who ordered the hit and broker a deal. Jon’s belated coming-of-age and sardonic voice are engaging aspects of the everyman hero, and this thriller is the more suspenseful for Jon’s early realization he’ll have to swap guns for duplicity, his best weapon. For fans of Harlan Coben and Linwood Barclay. --Christine Tran

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

(Keine Angebote verfügbar)

Buch Finden:



Kaufgesuch aufgeben

Sie kennen Autor und Titel des Buches und finden es trotzdem nicht auf ZVAB? Dann geben Sie einen Suchauftrag auf und wir informieren Sie automatisch, sobald das Buch verfügbar ist!

Kaufgesuch aufgeben