Uncle Petros & Goldbach's Conjecture

3,98 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 2.898 Bewertungen bei Goodreads )
 
9781582340678: Uncle Petros & Goldbach's Conjecture

Book by Doxiadis Apostolos

Die Inhaltsangabe kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Críticas:

"A mathematical conjecture unsolved for two centuries; a mathematical genius uncle driven mad trying to solve it; an ambiguous relation with a mathematically-minded nephew; and acute human observation all come together in "Uncle Petros" to make a very funny, tender, charming and, to my mind, irresistible novel." --Oliver Sacks, M.D."The most dramatic book I've read all year, with ambition, betrayal and greedy self-sacrifice to rival anything you'd find in an opera." --"Newsday""A fascinating, captivating, intellectual joy ride..." --"Miami Herald"

Reseña del editor:

In the tradition of "Fermat's Last Theorem" and "Einstein's Dreams," a novel about mathematical obsession.Petros Papachristos devotes the early part of his life trying to prove one of the greatest mathematical challenges of all time: Goldbach's Conjecture, the deceptively simple claim that every even number greater than two is the sum of two primes. Against a tableau of famous historical figures-among them G.H. Hardy, the self-taught Indian genius Srinivasa Ramanujan, and a young Kurt Godel-Petros works furiously to prove the notoriously difficult conjecture. Decades later, his ambitious young nephew drives the defeated mathematician back into the hunt to prove Goldbach's Conjecture. . . but at the cost of the old man's sanity, and perhaps even his life.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Beste Suchergebnisse beim ZVAB

1.

Doxiadis, Apostolos
Verlag: Bloomsbury USA, New York (2000)
ISBN 10: 1582340676 ISBN 13: 9781582340678
Gebraucht Hardcover Erstausgabe Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Robinson Street Books, IOBA
(Binghamton, NY, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Bloomsbury USA, New York, 2000. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Very Good. 1582340676 Goldbach conjecture. Fine in Fine dust jacket. First American edition. Quality, Value, Experience. Media Shipped in New Boxes. Artikel-Nr. BING282ET1873

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 6,90
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 21,42
Von USA nach Deutschland
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

2.

Doxiadis, Apostolos
Verlag: Bloomsbury USA
ISBN 10: 1582340676 ISBN 13: 9781582340678
Gebraucht Hardcover Erstausgabe Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Robinson Street Books, IOBA
(Binghamton, NY, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Bloomsbury USA. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Fine. 1582340676 Fine in Fine dust jacket. First American edition.* Quality, Value, Experience. Media Shipped in New Boxes. Artikel-Nr. NT760RM300005

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 9,19
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 21,42
Von USA nach Deutschland
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer