Louisiana Blue (The Tiller Galloway Novels) (Volume 3)

3,75 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 75 Bewertungen bei Goodreads )
 
9781493795192: Louisiana Blue (The Tiller Galloway Novels) (Volume 3)

"There can be no better writer of modern sea adventure around today." – Clive Cussler “Plunges the reader into a briny brew...a scary adventure.” – New York Times Book Review “For those who like in-your-face action, Louisiana Blue is worth the plunge.” – Library Journal USA Today -bestselling author David Poyer writes gripping undersea thrillers in the tradition of Clive Cussler and John D. MacDonald. Salvage diver and ex-con Tiller Galloway’s vowed he’ll never work for Colombian drug kingpin "The Baptist" again. Running from a vengeful past, he and his partner, fellow Hatterasman Shadrach Aydlett, need to make themselves scarce. Where better to lie low than under the murky, hazardous depths of the Gulf of Mexico? Industrial oilfield diving is the most dangerous work under the sea – which is why it brings big money. But there's more on the floor of the Oil Patch than pipeline and drill rigs. There's also a fathomless corruption that may lead to an environmental apocalypse. Tiller can either look the other way...or dig his own watery grave. . . . . This shattering sequal to Hatteras Blue and Bahamas Blue is as explosive as the tales of Hammond Innes and Peter Benchley, and it’s packed with some of the most breathless and vivid undersea scenes ever written.

Die Inhaltsangabe kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

About the Author:

Millions of copies of David Poyer's thirty-plus bestsellers are in print and ebook, including THE MED, THE GULF, THE CIRCLE, THE PASSAGE, TOMAHAWK, CHINA SEA, BLACK STORM, THE COMMAND, THE THREAT, KOREA STRAIT, THE WEAPON, THE CRISIS, and THE TOWERS, bestselling novels of the modern Navy and Marine Corps; historical fiction set during the Civil War; the Hemlock County thrillers, THE DEAD OF WINTER, WINTER IN THE HEART, AS THE WOLF LOVES WINTER, and THUNDER ON THE MOUNTAIN; and the other Tiller Galloway diving adventures, HATTERAS BLUE, BAHAMAS BLUE, and DOWN TO A SUNLESS SEA. Poyer's work has been translated into Japanese, Dutch, and Italian, and rights and options have been sold for films. A sport diver and sailor, he lives on Virginia's Eastern Shore and teaches writing at Wilkes University . Facebook: David Poyer Website: www.poyer.com.

From Kirkus Reviews:

Deep-sea diver ``Tiller'' Galloway's third adventure (after Bahamas Blue, 1991; Hatteras Blue, 1989) is so weighed down with subplots, techno-claptrap, and tough-guy blather that, when Poyer finally gets to the story, it sinks with nary a bubble. An ex-con, Galloway has fled North Carolina for the Louisiana Gulf coast, hoping to make big money diving for the oil companies. Hired by DeepTech, a small operation owned by Roland ``Bender'' Boudreaux, he joins his new mates in a serious drinking bout (they snort goldfish and drink urine to prove their grit) and a brutal, pointless barroom brawl before heading for Pandora 12, a platform owned by Coastal Oil. On the way, Galloway's helicopter mysteriously crashes, killing three men, one a government official. Tiller escapes, leaving behind an important briefcase (Poyer also leaves behind a body), and finally gets to work on the pipeline, where he remains locked in a l0' x 20' pressurized chamber with the other guys for weeks at a time. (Poyer provides detailed if often unintelligible exposition of their duties.) While inspecting pipeline at 1,200 feet, Tiller reports extensive damage that could lead to an oil spill that would douse the entire Gulf of Mexico. Boudreaux, who's in cahoots with the financially tottering oil company, orders Tiller to falsify the report. He's offered a lot of money, but Tiller's deep-down integrity floats to the surface. Much too slow in developing, the plot doesn't really emerge until the novel is two-thirds over. By then, it's scuttled. -- Copyright ©1994, Kirkus Associates, LP. All rights reserved.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

(Keine Angebote verfügbar)

Buch Finden:



Kaufgesuch aufgeben

Sie kennen Autor und Titel des Buches und finden es trotzdem nicht auf ZVAB? Dann geben Sie einen Suchauftrag auf und wir informieren Sie automatisch, sobald das Buch verfügbar ist!

Kaufgesuch aufgeben