Death of a Greedy Woman (Hamish Macbeth Mysteries, Book 8)

3,78 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 3.410 Bewertungen bei Goodreads )
9781482946338: Death of a Greedy Woman (Hamish Macbeth Mysteries, Book 8)

[Read by Shaun Grindell]

A classic title from M. C. Beaton's New York Times bestselling 'Hamish Macbeth' series.

Peta Gore is the bane of her friend's otherwise successful life. Maria Worth has come to hate her old friend -- a noisy, vulgar glutton. There is no other way to describe Peta. She doesn't just ''have a good appetite'' -- she sucks and chomps and chews with relish. Not only are her table manners horrifying, but she has a habit of showing up at Maria's carefully planned singles' gatherings and spoiling everything by flirting with all the men. This time Maria is determined to keep her latest event a secret.

The gathering is to be at Tommel Castle Hotel in the remote Scottish village of Lochdubh -- the perfect setting for a particularly difficult group. Nothing can go wrong. Except that somehow Peta finds out about the gathering and shows up, thoroughly disgusting everyone. Guests and staff band together in mutual loathing. But does someone hate her enough to kill her? When she is found dead, an apple stuck unceremoniously in her mouth, Constable Hamish Macbeth is on the scene. With a castle full of odd suspects, the lazy, long-limbed constable has to put his wooing of the hotel proprietress, Priscilla, on hold to solve the case.

Die Inhaltsangabe kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

From the Inside Flap:

There's not a cloud in Constable Hamish Macbeth's sky....
Just plenty of warm sunshine and not quite enough of beautiful Priscilla Halburton-Smythe.
But as eight hopeful members of the Checkmate Singles Club converge on Tommel Castle Hotel for a week of serious matchmaking, the clouds roll in. The four couples, carefully matched by dating director Maria Worth, immediately dislike each other. The arrival of Maria's gross, greedy partner, Peta, kills the last vestige of romance.
And as love goes out the window, murder comes in the door. Peta soon slurps up her last meal, and Hamish is left with a baffling puzzle: who shared the fateful outing that left Peta dead with a big red apple in her mouth? Surely not one of those singles....

About the Author:

M. C. BEATON has won international acclaim for her bestselling 'Hamish Macbeth' and 'Agatha Raisin' mysteries. She is also the author of more than one hundred romance titles and a series of romantic suspense, the 'Edwardian Mystery' series. Born in Scotland, she now divides her time between Paris and the English Cotswolds.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

(Keine Angebote verfügbar)

Buch Finden:

Kaufgesuch aufgeben

Sie kennen Autor und Titel des Buches und finden es trotzdem nicht auf ZVAB? Dann geben Sie einen Suchauftrag auf und wir informieren Sie automatisch, sobald das Buch verfügbar ist!

Kaufgesuch aufgeben