Britannia (Eagles of the Empire 14)

4,24 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 1.055 Bewertungen bei Goodreads )
 
9781472233868: Britannia (Eagles of the Empire 14)

Now a Sunday Times bestseller!Simon Scarrow's veteran Roman soldier heroes face a cunning and relentless enemy in BRITANNIA, the unforgettable fourteenth novel in the bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. Roman Britain, AD 52. The western tribes prepare to make a stand. But can they match the discipline and courage of the legionaries?Wounded Centurion Macro remains behind in charge of the fort as Prefect Cato leads an invasion deep into the hills. Cato's mission: to cement Rome's triumph over the natives by crushing the Druid stronghold. But with winter drawing in, the terrain is barely passable through icy rain and snowstorms.When Macro's patrols report that the natives in the vicinity of the garrison are thinning out, a terrible suspicion takes shape in the battle-scarred soldier's mind. Has the acting Governor, Legate Quintatus, underestimated the enemy? If there is a sophisticated and deadly plan afoot, it's Cato and his men who will pay the price...Includes maps and charts.

Die Inhaltsangabe kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

About the Author:

Simon Scarrow is a Sunday Times No. 1 bestselling author. His many successful books include his Eagles of the Empire novels featuring Roman soldiers Macro and Cato, most recently INVICTUS, BRITANNIA, BROTHERS IN BLOOD and PRAETORIAN, as well as HEARTS OF STONE, set in Greece during the Second World War, SWORD AND SCIMITAR, about the 1565 Siege of Malta, and a quartet about Wellington and Napoleon including the No. 1 Sunday Times bestseller THE FIELDS OF DEATH. He is the author with T. J. Andrews of the novels ARENA and INVADER. Find out more at www.simonscarrow.co.uk and on Facebook /officialsimonscarrow and Twitter @SimonScarrow

Review:

Gripping and moving story about the war and the protagonists' fractured friendships... [Scarrow's] sense of plot and pace is strong * The Times * What an amazing roller-coaster of a ride... this book is fantastic... So startlingly good, so utterly readable - and so very, very courageous -- Manda Scott Scarrow's engaging pair of heroes... top stuff * Daily Telegraph * Scarrow's rank with the best * Independent * Tremendous * Daily Express * An engrossing storyline, full of teeth-clenching battles, political machinations, treachery, honour, love and death...More please! -- Elizabeth Chadwick Simon Scarrow's stories of Roman military action in Britain have gathered quite a fan club and it's not hard to see why... Scarrow is highly skilled at describing violent action... for those who like their historical fiction to include plenty of bloody thrills and spills * Living History * I don't need this kind of competition -- Bernard Cornwell Praise for Simon's earlier novels 'A good, uncomplicated, rip-roaring read * Mail on Sunday * Britannia ... among the very best and quite possibly my favourite. From the opening chapter, Scarrow plunges us deep into a place that is as dangerous as it is atmospheric, the winter creeping in, beset by the hostility of the people who live in these hills... The action and drama never let up from first to last pages... There is one scene in particular involving Cato and boats during a great storm that is absolutely fantastic, brilliantly written and imagined * Winternights Blog * Fourteen books in and he manages to make the series fresh again, a new depth to Macro and Cato, a new edge to the Roman world and conflicts in Britannia, all achieved with style and a simply splendid plot line. Highly recommended * Parmenion Books * A new book in Simon Scarrow's long-running series about the Roman army is always a joy... It is heartening for fans of Cato and Macro that their adventures remain as lively as ever -- Antonia Senior * The Times *

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Neu kaufen Angebot ansehen

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb Deutschland

Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

In den Warenkorb

Beste Suchergebnisse beim ZVAB

1.

Simon Scarrow
Verlag: Headline Apr 2016 (2016)
ISBN 10: 1472233867 ISBN 13: 9781472233868
Neu Taschenbuch Anzahl: 2
Anbieter
AHA-BUCH GmbH
(Einbeck, Deutschland)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Headline Apr 2016, 2016. Taschenbuch. Buchzustand: Neu. Neuware - Now a Sunday Times bestseller! Simon Scarrow's veteran Roman soldier heroes face a cunning and relentless enemy in BRITANNIA, the unforgettable fourteenth novel in the bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. Roman Britain, AD 52. The western tribes prepare to make a stand. But can they match the discipline and courage of the legionaries Wounded Centurion Macro remains behind in charge of the fort as Prefect Cato leads an invasion deep into the hills. Cato's mission: to cement Rome's triumph over the natives by crushing the Druid stronghold. But with winter drawing in, the terrain is barely passable through icy rain and snowstorms. When Macro's patrols report that the natives in the vicinity of the garrison are thinning out, a terrible suspicion takes shape in the battle-scarred soldier's mind. Has the acting Governor, Legate Quintatus, underestimated the enemy If there is a sophisticated and deadly plan afoot, it's Cato and his men who will pay the price. Includes maps and charts. 480 pp. Englisch. Artikel-Nr. 9781472233868

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Neu kaufen
EUR 9,95
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb Deutschland
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer