Untitled Roman Novel 5 (Eagles of the Empire)

4,25 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 878 Bewertungen bei Goodreads )
9781472213310: Untitled Roman Novel 5 (Eagles of the Empire)
Críticas:

A new book in Simon Scarrow's long-running series about the Roman army is always a joy... It is heartening for fans of Cato and Macro that their adventures remain as lively as ever (Antonia Senior The Times)

Fourteen books in and he manages to make the series fresh again, a new depth to Macro and Cato, a new edge to the Roman world and conflicts in Britannia, all achieved with style and a simply splendid plot line. Highly recommended ( Parmenion Books)

Britannia ... among the very best and quite possibly my favourite. From the opening chapter, Scarrow plunges us deep into a place that is as dangerous as it is atmospheric, the winter creeping in, beset by the hostility of the people who live in these hills... The action and drama never let up from first to last pages... There is one scene in particular involving Cato and boats during a great storm that is absolutely fantastic, brilliantly written and imagined ( Winternights Blog)

Praise for Simon's earlier novels 'A good, uncomplicated, rip-roaring read ( Mail on Sunday)

I don't need this kind of competition (Bernard Cornwell)

Simon Scarrow's stories of Roman military action in Britain have gathered quite a fan club and it's not hard to see why... Scarrow is highly skilled at describing violent action... for those who like their historical fiction to include plenty of bloody thrills and spills ( Living History)

An engrossing storyline, full of teeth-clenching battles, political machinations, treachery, honour, love and death...More please! (Elizabeth Chadwick)

Tremendous ( Daily Express)

Scarrow's rank with the best ( Independent)

Scarrow's engaging pair of heroes... top stuff ( Daily Telegraph)

What an amazing roller-coaster of a ride... this book is fantastic... So startlingly good, so utterly readable - and so very, very courageous (Manda Scott)

Gripping and moving story about the war and the protagonists' fractured friendships... [Scarrow's] sense of plot and pace is strong ( The Times)

Reseña del editor:

Now a Sunday Times bestseller!

Simon Scarrow's veteran Roman soldier heroes face a cunning and relentless enemy in BRITANNIA, the unforgettable fourteenth novel in the bestselling Eagles of the Empire series.

Roman Britain, AD 52. The western tribes prepare to make a stand. But can they match the discipline and courage of the legionaries?

Wounded Centurion Macro remains behind in charge of the fort as Prefect Cato leads an invasion deep into the hills. Cato's mission: to cement Rome's triumph over the natives by crushing the Druid stronghold. But with winter drawing in, the terrain is barely passable through icy rain and snowstorms.

When Macro's patrols report that the natives in the vicinity of the garrison are thinning out, a terrible suspicion takes shape in the battle-scarred soldier's mind. Has the acting Governor, Legate Quintatus, underestimated the enemy? If there is a sophisticated and deadly plan afoot, it's Cato and his men who will pay the price...

Includes maps and charts.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

(Keine Angebote verfügbar)

Buch Finden:



Kaufgesuch aufgeben

Sie kennen Autor und Titel des Buches und finden es trotzdem nicht auf ZVAB? Dann geben Sie einen Suchauftrag auf und wir informieren Sie automatisch, sobald das Buch verfügbar ist!

Kaufgesuch aufgeben