Call the Doctor: A Country GP Between the Wars, Tales of Courage, Hardship and Hope

3,76 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 49 Bewertungen bei GoodReads )
 
9781447252122: Call the Doctor: A Country GP Between the Wars, Tales of Courage, Hardship and Hope
Vom Verlag:

Ronald White-Cooper may have worked as a doctor in London's slums and tended to badly wounded men on the Western Front, but when he arrived in Dartmouth in 1920 to set up as a GP he found himself facing some unique challenges. From the normally reliable midwife convinced she was being haunted to the retired colonel suffering mysterious fits, from the farmer who insisted rubbing in Bovril had cured his bad back to the young girl dying of tuberculosis, all his medical skills were put to the test.

Ronald initially he did his rounds on horseback but gradually the world changed, bringing not just cars but innovations like antibiotics which were to change medicine for ever. Over the years Ronald became a much-loved part of the community, often helping those who could not afford to pay him, and is remembered fondly to this day. Full of wonderful characters, written with warmth and humour, Call the Doctor brilliantly evokes a bygone age.

Klappentext:

Ronald was an experienced surgeon, who had worked in London's East End and in the terrible conditions of the Somme during the First World War, but when he arrived in Dartmouth in 1920, newly-wed and looking for a fresh start as a GP, he found himself facing some unexpected challenges. Not only were local villagers unimpressed by the young doctor's new-fangled ways, but he would need all his wits, as well as his medical skills, to deal with the cases that came through his surgery door each day.

Whether it was a grumpy old farmer, a manic dentist or a midwife convinced she had been haunted, Ronald helped his patients as best he could, from premature births and the ever-prevalent TB to attempted suicides. In a world without antibiotics, where there was no cure for many common diseases, life was unpredictable. For Ronald too, there were times of personal tragedy as well as great joy as he practised through the depression and the Second World War.

Written with warmth and humour, and full of eccentric characters, Call the Doctor movingly evokes a bygone age.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Neu kaufen Angebot ansehen

Versand: EUR 29,50
Von Deutschland nach USA

Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

In den Warenkorb

Beste Suchergebnisse beim ZVAB

1.

White-Cooper, Ronald
Verlag: PAN Apr 2014 (2014)
ISBN 10: 1447252128 ISBN 13: 9781447252122
Neu Taschenbuch Anzahl: 2
Anbieter
AHA-BUCH GmbH
(Einbeck, Deutschland)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung PAN Apr 2014, 2014. Taschenbuch. Buchzustand: Neu. 197 x 130 x 20 mm. Neuware - A funny and poignant account of life as a Devon county doctor, for fans of 'Call The Midwife' and 'Nurse On Call'. White-Cooper arrived in Dartmouth in 1920 to set up as a GP and found himself facing some unique challenges. His memoirs were found in an old trunk in an attic and have been edited by his granddaughter Deborah Owen. Not final jacket image. Englisch. Artikel-Nr. 9781447252122

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Neu kaufen
EUR 12,57
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 29,50
Von Deutschland nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer