Voices Under Berlin: The Tale Of A Monterey Mary

3,81 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 27 Bewertungen bei Goodreads )
 
9781434839732: Voices Under Berlin: The Tale Of A Monterey Mary

A tale of the secret Cold War, told with a pace and a black humor reminiscent of Joseph Heller (Catch-22) and Richard Hooker (M*A*S*H*), played against the backdrop of the CIA spy tunnel in Berlin. It is the story of the Americans who worked the tunnel, and their fight for a sense of purpose battling boredom and the enemy both within and without. On his website www.SpyWise.net, Wesley Britton calls it "a spy novel that breaks all the molds," adding that "in the tradition of Greene and Ambler, 'Voices Under Berlin' contains many literate qualities that make it a work of special consideration, worthy of an audience much broader than that of espionage enthusiasts or those interested in Cold War history. In fact, one indication of the book's quality is that it was among the award winners at the 2008 Hollywood Book Festival, a very rare honor for a spy novel." Military Writers' Society of America Book of the Month for September 2009. Visit http://voicesunderberlin.com/Reviews.html

Die Inhaltsangabe kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Book Description:

"By far the strongest part of the book is the banter between the Americans and the Russians on the other side of the wire. Their voices are distinct and fun, and there were several points where I was laughing out loud. . . . the dialog and practical jokes amongst the men are well worth the read. I was actually sad when the book ended and I had to say farewell to these characters."

From the Publisher:

"Voices Under Berlin: The Tale of a Monterey Mary" is a novel about one of the early skirmishes of the Cold War told with a pace and a black humor reminiscent of that used by Joseph Heller (Catch-22) and Richard Hooker (Mash). It is set against the backdrop of Operation GOLD (PBJOINTLY), the CIA cross-sector spy tunnel operation in Berlin in the mid-1950s.

The yarn is told from both ends of the tunnel. One end is the story of the "tunnel rats," the American soldiers who man the operation. It tells of their fight for a sense of purpose against boredom and the enemy both within and without.

The novel opens on the day of the flood that shut down digging in the tunnel until pumps could be brought into Berlin from the American Zone of Germany. The "tunnel rats" are told to make themselves scarce until the pumps arrive, and they disperse throughout Berlin, where three of them meet German women, one of whom is a SWALLOW, the bait in a Russian "honey trap," a sex for secrets operation. But which of them is the SWALLOW's target? Kevin, the Russian transcriber, Blackie, the blackmarketeer or Lieutenant Sheerluck, the martinet.

At the other end of the tunnel are the Russians whose telephone calls the Americans are intercepting. They are the voices under Berlin. Their side of the story is told in the transcripts of their calls, which reveal tantalizing details of the "honey-trap" operation, but not enough for the reader to figure out who its target is, until the final chapters of the book.

The boredom inherent in any intercept operation while waiting for the target's proverbial loose lips to provide the information that will sink a proverbial ship takes on a role in the story similar to the major role it played in Thomas Heggen's "Mister Roberts". To relieve their boredom the Americans play practical jokes on one another and on the hapless East-German guards in a tower across the border.

The vast amount of "hurry up and wait" time that is available to play jokes allows this pastime to be raised almost to the level of an art form. For example, the Lieutenant is sent to get an "ST-one Precision Operator Head Space Adjustment Tool," which is not what it seems. The East Germans in the tower across the border are treated to a number of mid-night plays staged in the American compound, one of which enrages the East German Command to the point that they are prepared to make an armed crossing of the border to retaliate. Will cooler Russian heads prevail, or will the "tunnel rats" have to fight for their lives?

Against this background of practical jokes there is always the sinister threat of Americans being kidnapped by the GRU "body snatcher" unit that was one of the hallmark features of Cold-War Berlin at this period in time. Information obtained from Russian transcripts offers the Americans an opportunity to thwart two kidnappings, but fears of the source of the information leaking prevents the Chief of Base from taking action on the information. "So, you're a plumber! That's a surprise. I thought that I was talking to an intelligence officer," yells Kevin, displaying the smooth people skills that had gotten him put on straight Swings and out of people's way. Is there any way to save the intended victims?

The faulty transcription of one of the Russians' calls takes the world to the brink of war. Can the mistake it contains be corrected before the Cold War goes hot?

"And why is this man transcribing a tape in his underwear?" asks lieutenant Sheerluck while all this is going on.

Who were really the victors and who the vanquished in this battle of wits? History says the Russians won, but were they the real enemy, or were they just the target of the tunnel operation?

And who was the SWALLOW after?

You'll have to buy a copy to find out.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

(Keine Angebote verfügbar)

Buch Finden:



Kaufgesuch aufgeben

Sie kennen Autor und Titel des Buches und finden es trotzdem nicht auf ZVAB? Dann geben Sie einen Suchauftrag auf und wir informieren Sie automatisch, sobald das Buch verfügbar ist!

Kaufgesuch aufgeben