Bill DeSmedt Dualism (The Archon Sequence)

ISBN 13: 9780974573465

Dualism (The Archon Sequence)

4,17 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 24 Bewertungen bei Goodreads )
 
9780974573465: Dualism (The Archon Sequence)

When the six-year-old daughter of a billionaire industrialist is kidnapped, u¨ber-consultant Jonathan Knox and counter-terrorism agent Marianna Bonaventure must team up with an experimental artificial intelligence to find her, never suspecting the little girl is the key to a plot that could destroy the NSA — and kill millions of Americans in the bargain.

Bill DeSmedt has crafted another tour-de-force of cutting-edge science, complex characters, and breakneck action. From a repurposed salt mine deep beneath the sands of New Mexico to the palatial estates of California’s Monterey Peninsula to the digitized cosmos of artificial intelligence, Dualism is a high-concept science thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton and James Rollins.

Die Inhaltsangabe kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

From the Inside Flap:

Working with the NSA, billionaire contractor Davoud Ansari is about to launch a revolution in spy technology when his six-year-old daughter disappears from his secure estate. Desperate, he commandeers every resource at his disposal to find young Fatimah before her next epileptic seizure destroys her mind.

A QUANTUM ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE: A radical departure from previous attempts at AI, the entity that calls itself 'Nietzsche' may be the first machine in the world to have attained consciousness -- albeit at a terrible, never-to- be-spoken-of price. Originally slated for use by the NSA, but supplanted by a technology even more disturbing, Nietzsche has a special interest in its creator's only child.

AN INTUITIVE ÜBER-CONSULTANT: Top-tier corporate analyst Jonathan Knox has an uncanny knack for seeing past surface random- ness and discerning the patterns hidden in the noise. But when Ansari enlists him to find his kidnapped daughter, Jon finds himself in over his head -- drowning in data he can't decipher, a pawn in Nietzsche's far-reaching agenda.

A LETHAL GOVERNMENT OPERATIVE: Having lost both parents to a jet hijacking, Marianna Bonaventure fights back as a U.S. counter-terrorism agent. She met Jon Knox on her first field mission, and in the process of saving the world together they started a passionate romance. Now she's on the case with Jon again, though neither suspects the true danger under- lying Fatimah's disappearance.

A DEEP-COVER JIHADIST:  Hamza Nassiri is the architect of that danger. An agent for Iran's feared Quds Force, he has posed as Ansari's head of security for years, waiting for the right moment to reduce the Great Deceiver to ruin. Finally, all the elements are in place to strike a deathblow to the NSA and kill a multi- tude of Americans in the bargain. All the elements except one little girl...

Bill DeSmedt has crafted another tour-de-force of cutting-edge science, complex characters, and breakneck action. From a repurposed salt mine deep beneath the sands of New Mexico to the palatial estates of California's Monterey Peninsula to the digitized cosmos of artificial intelligence, Dualism is a high-concept science thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton and James Rollins.

From the Back Cover:

Acclaim for Bill DeSmedt

"The level of ingenuity is immense. The characters grabbed me ... a wonderful, intricate story."
-- Larry Niven, Nebula and Hugo award-winning author of Ringworld

"... A swift, gripping novel with a goose-pimple mix of scary science and near-future action."
-- Greg Bear, Nebula and Hugo award-winning author of Blood Music

"DeSmedt veers an action-packed thriller into perilous realms ... the combination of adrenaline and intellect sizzles."
-- David Brin, New York Times bestselling author of The Postman

"An innovative concept for an end-of-the-world thriller, with convincing research and locomotive pacing."
-- Kevin J. Anderson, New York Times bestselling author of Hidden Empire

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

(Keine Angebote verfügbar)

Buch Finden:



Kaufgesuch aufgeben

Sie kennen Autor und Titel des Buches und finden es trotzdem nicht auf ZVAB? Dann geben Sie einen Suchauftrag auf und wir informieren Sie automatisch, sobald das Buch verfügbar ist!

Kaufgesuch aufgeben