The Weirdstone of Brisingamen: A Tale of Alderley

3,99 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 5.451 Bewertungen bei Goodreads )
 
9780809824106: The Weirdstone of Brisingamen: A Tale of Alderley

Neither Susan nor her brother, Colin, ever thought that war would be waged over a simple gemstone in her bracelet. But that's what happens when the children visit Alderley Edge, a spooky place in a remote part of England. There, they meet the wizard Cadellin, who needs the stone to rouse his allies in the never-ending battle between good and evil. But when the stone vanishes, Susan and Colin must find it before the forces of evil use it to destroy all the goodness that ever existed in the world.    Includes an afterword by the author. 

Die Inhaltsangabe kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Review:

Readers who love E. Nesbit or Susan Cooper may discover a new favorite in Alan Garner, winner of many awards for literary excellence including the Carnegie Medal. The Weirdstone of Brisingamen, first published in 1960, is the story of two children, Susan and Colin, who are sent to rural England to stay with Bess Mossock, their mother's childhood nurse. The Mossocks' farm is delightfully old-fashioned, and the Alderley area is dotted with interesting woods to explore as well as treacherous disused mines. Susan and Colin encounter a frightening local woman, and feel they are being watched by crows. The air of menace quickly becomes acute danger as the children are pursued by small goblinlike beings, who truss them in cobwebby ropes. An ancient wizard named Cadellin comes to their rescue. As they learn more of the dark forces that threaten Alderley, Susan and Colin find themselves on the run through the abandoned mine tunnels, aided by a pair of heroic dwarfs.

Garner's knowledge of folklore and the Alderley area--his characters' dialect sounds realistic instead of like rote fantasy-speak--imbues his story with a thoughtful depth. His writing is as clear as poetry: "And they passed between the stones, only to stop short a couple of paces later, with despair in their hearts, cold as the east wind." There is a sequel to The Weirdstone of Brisingamen, called The Moon of Gomrath, and both books are superbly written, absorbing tales of wizardry and adventure. --Blaise Selby

About the Author:

ALAN GARNER is the award-winning author of Elidor, The Owl Service, and The Stone Book Quartet. He lives in Cheshire, England.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Gebraucht kaufen Angebot ansehen

Versand: EUR 2,70
Innerhalb Deutschland

Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

In den Warenkorb

Beste Suchergebnisse beim ZVAB

1.

Garner, Alan:
Verlag: Penguin Books, in association with Collins, (1963)
ISBN 10: 0809824108 ISBN 13: 9780809824106
Gebraucht Taschenbuch Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
buecher_baer80
(Grasellenbach - Hammelbach, Deutschland)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Penguin Books, in association with Collins, 1963. Taschenbuch. Buchzustand: Akzeptabel. insgesamt deutliche Gebrauchsspuren, Artikel stammt aus Nichtraucherhaushalt! AS3930 Sprache: Englisch Gewicht in Gramm: 500. Artikel-Nr. 341070

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,23
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 2,70
Innerhalb Deutschland
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer