Ann M. Martin; Laura Godwin The Doll People

ISBN 13: 9780807205129

The Doll People

4,02 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 12.129 Bewertungen bei Goodreads )
 
9780807205129: The Doll People

FOR USE IN SCHOOLS AND LIBRARIES ONLY. A family of porcelain dolls, that has lived in the same house for 100 years, is taken aback when a new family of plastic dolls arrives and doesn't follow The Doll Code of Honor.

Die Inhaltsangabe kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Review:

Annabelle Doll is 8 years old--and has been for over 100 years. Nothing much has changed in the dollhouse during that time, except for the fact that 45 years ago, Annabelle's Auntie Sarah disappeared from the dollhouse without a trace. After all this time, restless Annabelle is becoming more and more curious about her aunt's fate. And when she discovers Auntie Sarah's old diary, she becomes positively driven. Her cautious family tries to discourage her, but Annabelle won't be stopped, even though she risks Permanent Doll State, in which she could turn into a regular, nonliving doll. And when the "Real Pink Plastic" Funcraft family moves in next door, the Doll family's world is turned upside down--in more ways than one!

Fans of The Borrowers and Stuart Little will love this exciting story of adventure and mystery. The relationship between the two doll families, one antique, one modern, is hilariously, wonderfully drawn. The Funcrafts are reckless and raucous, with fearlessness born of their unbreakable plastic parts. The Doll family is reserved and somewhat prim, even though they occasionally break into '60s tunes like "Respect" in their sing-alongs. Annabelle is a heroine with integrity and gumption. Ann Martin (The Babysitters Club series) and Laura Godwin create a witty, intriguing tale, illustrated with humor and a clever eye for detail by Brian Selznick. (Ages 7 to 11) --Emilie Coulter

From the Inside Flap:

Read by Lynn Redgrave
Approx. 3.5 hours
2 cassettes

The 100-year-old Doll family?beautifully crafted china dolls passed down through four generations of girls in one American family?meet their new neighbors, the Funcrafts, a doll family made completely of plastic and delivered straight from the factory shelves.

Annabelle Doll is eight years old?she has been for over a hundred years. Not a lot has happened to her, cooped up in the dollhouse, with the same doll people, day after day, year after year?until the Funcrafts move in. Now Annabelle has a friend. Sure she's made entirely of plastic and she's living in the scariest room in the house, but she's an adventurer, and after a hundred years of boredom, that's just what Annabelle needs.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

(Keine Angebote verfügbar)

Buch Finden:



Kaufgesuch aufgeben

Sie kennen Autor und Titel des Buches und finden es trotzdem nicht auf ZVAB? Dann geben Sie einen Suchauftrag auf und wir informieren Sie automatisch, sobald das Buch verfügbar ist!

Kaufgesuch aufgeben