All the Pretty Horses (The Border Trilogy)

3,97 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 74.099 Bewertungen bei Goodreads )
9780792715764: All the Pretty Horses (The Border Trilogy)

Set in 1949, this is the story of John Grady Cole, who, at the age of sixteen, finds himself at the losing end of a long generation of ranchers. His grandfather's death has just cut him off from the only life he has ever imagined wanting. Abandoned by his parents troubles, heading over the border seems the only way out of a society moving in all of the wrong directions so, with his friend Rawlins, he rides away. Soon enough, they acquire a hapless younger companion and jobs breaking horses on a hacienda. Within months, one of the boys is dead and childhood has passed for the other two, along with an era that once uniquely defined America. This is, indisputably a timeless masterpiece.

Die Inhaltsangabe kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.


Part bildungsroman, part horse opera, part meditation on courage and loyalty, this beautifully crafted novel won the National Book Award in 1992. The plot is simple enough. John Grady Cole, a 16-year-old dispossessed Texan, crosses the Rio Grande into Mexico in 1949, accompanied by his pal Lacey Rawlins. The two precocious horsemen pick up a sidekick--a laughable but deadly marksman named Jimmy Blevins--encounter various adventures on their way south and finally arrive at a paradisiacal hacienda where Cole falls into an ill-fated romance. Readers familiar with McCarthy's Faulknerian prose will find the writing more restrained than in Suttree and Blood Meridian. Newcomers will be mesmerized by the tragic tale of John Grady Cole's coming of age.

From the Publisher:

6 1.5-hour cassettes

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

(Keine Angebote verfügbar)

Buch Finden:

Kaufgesuch aufgeben

Sie kennen Autor und Titel des Buches und finden es trotzdem nicht auf ZVAB? Dann geben Sie einen Suchauftrag auf und wir informieren Sie automatisch, sobald das Buch verfügbar ist!

Kaufgesuch aufgeben