The Winter Long (October Daye)

4,4 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 7.364 Bewertungen bei Goodreads )
 
9780756408084: The Winter Long (October Daye)
Críticas:

"The urgency of the ticking clock works well with the political intrigue, Toby's newfound vulnerability (following a truly diabolical ambush), and the setting's ever-expanding mythology. Certain plot payoffs and emotional beats further reward longtime readers, making this a truly satisfying entry." -- Publishers Weekly (for "Chimes at Midnight")
"There is a sense that Toby's journey has started a new path with this book, with the launching of several new story arcs and the continuing evolution of her relationships, but the best elements of this series--the phenomenal worldbuilding, complex plots and fascinating characters--are still present in full force. Readers will no doubt clamor for more, and fortunately, the future is promising for this engrossing series." -- RT Reviews (for "Chimes at Midnight")
"Because this book is an epitome of everything that makes the Toby Daye novels one of the best urban fantasy series on the market, right up there with Jim Butcher's The Dresden Files: tight and believable characters, a gorgeously realized universe, and so many unexpected twists it's almost like they're going out of style. Chimes at Midnight is definitely my most favorite Toby book to date." -- The Ranting Dragon (for "Chimes at Midnight")
"The narrative emphasis is always on the characters' choices, their weight and their consequences, and I love that. It isn't only magic that has consequences; choices do, too.... I want you to read the first six volumes in the October Daye series, every single book [is] worth your time." -- Fantasy Book Cafe (for "Chimes at Midnight")
"McGuire also effortlessly weaves in objects, events and characters from past books to add depth to her scenarios. All of her many talents combined makes it very easy for me to say this is one of my favorite urban fantasy series ever! ... Fans of Faith Hunter, Benedict Jacka, Jim Butcher and Kim Harrison will delight in Toby and her sidekicks. I, on the other hand, am left pining again for book eight." -- SF Site (for "Chimes at Midnight")

Praise for the Toby Daye series:
"McGuire has never lacked for courage in her writing.... Thephenomenally inventive October Daye series showcases her narrative daringand ingenuity beautifully." --"RT Reviews"
"Prepare to be dazzled.... Like the best of urban fantasy, with each reveal and mystery solved, Toby's world grows ever more enticing.As seductive as faerie itself, this is one series I could never give up." --All Things Urban Fantasy
"These books arelike watching half a season of your favorite television series all at once.... More than anything else, it's the fun of it all that's kept me returning to McGuire's books and to this series." --SF Signal
"The plot is strong, the characterization is terrific, the tragedies hurt...andMcGuire's usual beautiful writing and dark humorare present and accounted for. This has become one of my favorite urban fantasy series." --Fantasy Literature
"With"Ashes of Honor," McGuire has crafteda deeply personal and intense storythat will keep you on the edge, hoping to be pushed over. In my opinion, it is, hands down, the best Toby to date." --The Ranting Dragon
"An urban fantasy detective series featuring a resourceful female detective.... [October Daye] should appeal tofans of Jim Butcher's Dresden Files as well as the novels of Charlaine Harris, Patricia Briggs, and similar authors." --"Library Journal""

Praise for the Toby Daye series:
"McGuire has never lacked for courage in her writing.... Thephenomenally inventive October Daye series showcases her narrative daringand ingenuity beautifully." --RT Reviews
"Prepare to be dazzled.... Like the best of urban fantasy, with each reveal and mystery solved, Toby's world grows ever more enticing.As seductive as faerie itself, this is one series I could never give up." --All Things Urban Fantasy
"These books arelike watching half a season of your favorite television series all at once.... More than anything else, it's the fun of it all that's kept me returning to McGuire's books and to this series." --SF Signal
"The plot is strong, the characterization is terrific, the tragedies hurt...andMcGuire's usual beautiful writing and dark humorare present and accounted for. This has become one of my favorite urban fantasy series." --Fantasy Literature
"WithAshes of Honor, McGuire has crafteda deeply personal and intense storythat will keep you on the edge, hoping to be pushed over. In my opinion, it is, hands down, the best Toby to date." --The Ranting Dragon
"An urban fantasy detective series featuring a resourceful female detective.... [October Daye] should appeal tofans of Jim Butcher's Dresden Files as well as the novels of Charlaine Harris, Patricia Briggs, and similar authors." --Library Journal

"

Praise for the October Daye series:
"McGuire has never lacked for courage in her writing.... The phenomenally inventive October Daye series showcases her narrative daring and ingenuity beautifully." --RT Reviews
"Prepare to be dazzled.... Like the best of urban fantasy, with each reveal and mystery solved, Toby's world grows ever more enticing. As seductive as faerie itself, this is one series I could never give up." --All Things Urban Fantasy
"These books are like watching half a season of your favorite television series all at once.... More than anything else, it's the fun of it all that's kept me returning to McGuire's books and to this series." --SF Signal
"The plot is strong, the characterization is terrific, the tragedies hurt...and McGuire's usual beautiful writing and dark humor are present and accounted for. This has become one of my favorite urban fantasy series." --Fantasy Literature
"With Ashes of Honor, McGuire has crafted a deeply personal and intense story that will keep you on the edge, hoping to be pushed over. In my opinion, it is, hands down, the best Toby to date." --The Ranting Dragon
"An urban fantasy detective series featuring a resourceful female detective.... [October Daye] should appeal to fans of Jim Butcher's Dresden Files as well as the novels of Charlaine Harris, Patricia Briggs, and similar authors." --Library Journal

Biografía del autor:

Seanan McGuire is a California-based author with a strong penchant for travel and can regularly be found just about anyplace capable of supporting human life (as well as a few places that probably aren't). Early exposure to a vast number of books left her with a lifelong affection for the written word, and led, perhaps inevitably, to her writing books of her own, starting somewhere around the age of eleven. The October Daye novels are her first urban fantasy series, and the InCryptid novels are her second series, both published by DAW and bother of which have put her in the New York Times bestseller list. Seanan was the winner of the 2010 John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer; Rosemary and Rue, the first novel in the October Daye series, was named one of the Top 20 Paranormal Fantasy Novels of the Past Decade; and her novel Feed, written under the name Mira Grant, was named as one of Publishers Weekly's Best Books of 2010. She also won a Hugo for her podcast, and is the first person to be nominated for five Hugo Awards in a single year. You can visit her at www.seananmcguire.com.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

(Keine Angebote verfügbar)

Buch Finden:



Kaufgesuch aufgeben

Sie kennen Autor und Titel des Buches und finden es trotzdem nicht auf ZVAB? Dann geben Sie einen Suchauftrag auf und wir informieren Sie automatisch, sobald das Buch verfügbar ist!

Kaufgesuch aufgeben