The Hidden Agenda of the Political Mind: How Self-Interest Shapes Our Opinions and Why We Won't Admit It

3,67 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 36 Bewertungen bei Goodreads )
 
9780691161112: The Hidden Agenda of the Political Mind: How Self-Interest Shapes Our Opinions and Why We Won't Admit It
Críticas:

"[T]hought provoking . . ." --John R. Hibbing, Science

"[T]his disturbing book may provoke debate, dismay and considerable anger." --Kirkus

"[A]n unusually witty and engaging academic book . . ." --Ethan Epstein, National Journal

"[I]nteresting throughout." --Tyler Cowen, Marginal Revolution

" The Hidden Agenda of the Political Mind is provocative and often persuasive. . . . Weeden and Kurzban remind us that self-interest is a complicated concept." --Glenn C. Altschuler, Huffington Post

"The book is a thoughtful reminder that politics is often simply a contest over finite resources in which different voters want opposing things." --John McDermott, Financial Times

"Authors Weeden and Kurzban have written a well-researched . . . analysis of the political mind. . . . [T]he book satisfies the intellectual demands of researchers and general readers. Perfect for fans of Thomas Frank's What's the Matter with Kansas?" --Library Journal

"Weeden and Kurzban's book is well worth a read." --Anthony Randazzo, Reason

Críticas:

"[T]his disturbing book may provoke debate, dismay and considerable anger." --Kirkus

"[A]n unusually witty and engaging academic book . . ." --Ethan Epstein, National Journal

"[I]nteresting throughout." --Tyler Cowen, Marginal Revolution

" The Hidden Agenda of the Political Mind is provocative and often persuasive. . . . Weeden and Kurzban remind us that self-interest is a complicated concept." --Glenn C. Altschuler, Huffington Post

"The book is a thoughtful reminder that politics is often simply a contest over finite resources in which different voters want opposing things." --John McDermott, Financial Times

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Neu kaufen Angebot ansehen

Versand: EUR 29,50
Von Deutschland nach USA

Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

In den Warenkorb

Beste Suchergebnisse beim ZVAB

1.

Jason Weeden
Verlag: Princeton Univers. Press Nov 2014 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0691161119 ISBN 13: 9780691161112
Neu Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
AHA-BUCH GmbH
(Einbeck, Deutschland)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Princeton Univers. Press Nov 2014, 2014. Buch. Buchzustand: Neu. 244x159x32 mm. Neuware - When it comes to politics, we often perceive our own beliefs as fair and socially beneficial, while seeing opposing views as merely self-serving. But in fact most political views are governed by self-interest, even if we usually don't realize it. Challenging our fiercely held notions about what motivates us politically, this book explores how self-interest divides the public on a host of hot-button issues, from abortion and the legalization of marijuana to same-sex marriage, immigration, affirmative action, and income redistribution. Expanding the notion of interests beyond simple economics, Jason Weeden and Robert Kurzban look at how people's interests clash when it comes to their sex lives, social status, family, and friends. Drawing on a wealth of data, they demonstrate how different groups form distinctive bundles of political positions that often stray far from what we typically think of as liberal or conservative. They show how we engage in unconscious rationalization to justify our political positions, portraying our own views as wise, benevolent, and principled while casting our opponents' views as thoughtless and greedy. 363 pp. Englisch. Artikel-Nr. 9780691161112

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Neu kaufen
EUR 24,49
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 29,50
Von Deutschland nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer