Natasha Solomons The House at Tyneford

ISBN 13: 9780452297647

The House at Tyneford

3,78 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 15.244 Bewertungen bei Goodreads )
 
9780452297647: The House at Tyneford

Book by Solomons Natasha

Die Inhaltsangabe kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Críticas:

"A vivid and poignant story about hope, loss, and reinvention."--"Psychologies" Magazine (UK)

"Both a love story set during the Second World War and an elegy to the English country house . . . the greatest pleasure of the novel is its stirring narrative and the constant sense of discovery."--"Times Literary Supplement" (London)

"A deeply touching and blissfully romantic elegy for a lost world."--"The Times" (London)

""The House at Tyneford" is a wonderful, old-fashioned novel that takes you back in time to the manor homes, aristocracy and domestic servants of England. In this setting, Natasha Solomons gives us a courageous heroine whose incredible love story will keep you in suspense until the final page."---Kathleen Grissom, author of"The Kitchen House"

""The House at Tyneford" is an exquisite tale of love, family, suspense, and survival. Capturing with astonishing detail and realism a vanished world of desire and hope trapped beneath rigid class convention, Natasha Solomons's stunning new novel tells the story of Elise Landau, a Jewish Austrian teenager from a family of artists, who is forced to flee her home in Vienna carrying only a guide to household management and her father's last novel, hidden on pages stuffed inside a viola. Elise hides as a parlor maid in a fine English country estate, but soon she discovers that passion can be found in the most unexpected places. Already a bestseller in Britain, American readers will thrill to "The House at Tyneford"."---Katherine Howe, author of"The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane"

"Natasha Solomons has written a lovely, atmospheric novel full of charming characters and good, old fashioned storytelling. Fans of "Downton Abbey" and Kate Morton's "The Forgotten Garden "will absolutely adore "The House at Tyneford.""--Kristin Hannah, "New York Times "bestselling author of "Fly Away"


""The House at Tyneford" is a wonderful, old-fashioned novel that takes you back in time to the manor homes, aristocracy and domestic servants of England. In this setting, Natasha Solomons gives us a courageous heroine whose incredible love story will keep you in suspense until the final page."--Kathleen Grissom, author of "The Kitchen House "

""The House at Tyneford" is an exquisite tale of love, family, suspense, and survival. Capturing with astonishing detail and realism a vanished world of desire and hope trapped beneath rigid class convention, Natasha Solomons's stunning new novel tells the story of Elise Landau, a Jewish Austrian teenager from a family of artists, who is forced to flee her home in Vienna carrying only a guide to household management and her father's last novel, hidden on pages stuffed inside a viola. Elise hides as a parlor maid in a fine English country estate, but soon she discovers that passion can be found in the most unexpected places. Already a bestseller in Britain, American readers will thrill to "The House at Tyneford.""--Katherine Howe, "New York Times "bestselling author of "The House of Velvet and Glass"


"Like "Downton," this romance compellingly explores the upstairs-downstairs dynamic of estate life."--"Entertainment Weekly"


"Solomons's poignant tale provides richly textured details that hold the reader's interest. Fans of Ann Patchett will find Solomons's style similar and will appreciate how the subdued tone and the quiet of the countryside contrast with the roar of war."--"Library Journal"


"Halfway though, I was so invested in this gorgeously written story that I could barely read on, fearful that what I wished to happen would never come to pass. Permeated with an exquisite sadness, it reminded me of "Atonement" . . . I adored this book."--Donna Marchetti, "The Cleveland Plain Dealer"

"Natasha Solomons has writtena lovely, atmospheric novel full of charming characters and good, old fashioned storytelling. Fans of Downton Abbey and Kate Morton's The Forgotten Garden will absolutely adore The House at Tyneford." Kristin Hannah, New York Times bestselling author of The Nightingale


"The House at Tyneford is a wonderful, old-fashioned novel that takes you back in time to the manor homes, aristocracy and domestic servants of England. In this setting, Natasha Solomonsgives us a courageousheroine whose incredible love story will keep you in suspenseuntil the final page." Kathleen Grissom, author of The Kitchen House

The House at Tyneford is an exquisite tale of love, family, suspense, and survival. Capturing with astonishing detail and realism a vanished world of desire and hope trapped beneath rigid class convention, Natasha Solomons's stunning new novel tells the story of Elise Landau, a Jewish Austrian teenager from a family of artists, who is forced to flee her home in Vienna carrying only a guide to household management and her father's last novel, hidden on pages stuffed inside a viola. Elise hides as a parlor maid in a fine English country estate, but soon she discovers that passion can be found in the most unexpected places. Already a bestseller in Britain, American readers will thrill to The House at Tyneford. Katherine Howe, New York Times bestselling author of The House of Velvet and Glass


Like Downton, this romance compellingly explores the upstairs-downstairs dynamic of estate life. Entertainment Weekly


Solomons s poignant tale provides richly textured details that hold the reader s interest. Fans of Ann Patchett will find Solomons s style similar and will appreciate how the subdued tone and the quiet of the countryside contrast with the roar of war. Library Journal


Halfway though, I was so invested in this gorgeously written story that I could barely read on, fearful that what I wished to happen would never come to pass. Permeated with an exquisite sadness, it reminded me of Atonement . . . I adored this book. Donna Marchetti, The Cleveland Plain Dealer

"

Reseña del editor:

Fans of Kate Morton'sThe Forgotten Gardenand TV's Downton Abbeywill love this sweepingNew York Timesbestselling historical novel of love and loss.
The start of an affair, the end of an era.

It's the spring of 1938 and no longer safe to be a Jew in Vienna. Nineteen-year-old Elise Landau is forced to leave her glittering life of parties and champagne to become a parlor maid in England. She arrives at Tyneford, the great house on the bay, where servants polish silver and serve drinks on the lawn. But war is coming, and the world is changing. When the master of Tyneford's young son, Kit, returns home, he and Elise strike up an unlikely friendship that will transform Tyneford and Elise forever."

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

(Keine Angebote verfügbar)

Buch Finden:



Kaufgesuch aufgeben

Sie kennen Autor und Titel des Buches und finden es trotzdem nicht auf ZVAB? Dann geben Sie einen Suchauftrag auf und wir informieren Sie automatisch, sobald das Buch verfügbar ist!

Kaufgesuch aufgeben