Robert Jackson Bennett American Elsewhere

ISBN 13: 9780316200202

American Elsewhere

3,78 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 3.802 Bewertungen bei Goodreads )
 
9780316200202: American Elsewhere
Alle Exemplare der Ausgabe mit dieser ISBN anzeigen:
 
 

Book by Bennett Robert Jackson

Die Inhaltsangabe kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Críticas:

"The Troupe is true magic: a gripping tale that reminds the audience why we fell in love with reading. This book enchants, leaving the audience on their feet, yelling for an encore."--Mat Johnson ."..Bennett's finely crafted novel rises on a wave of suspense to a place of beauty and hope."-- Publishers Weekly on The Troupe "Like a collaboration between Stephen King and John Steinbeck."-- Publishers Weekly on Mr. Shivers "Mr. Shivers is a startling debut, a deft amalgam of thriller, cerebral horror and American gothic, written with a stark and artful simplicity that complements the examination of struggling humanity pushed to its limits."-- The Guardian (UK) "Highly impressive."-- "Kirkus Reviews" ""American Elsewhere" conjures up echoes of the best works of Ray Bradbury and Stephen King. ... "American Elsewhere" manages to surprise, terrify and move the reader." ""Los Angeles Times""" "Highly impressive." ""Kirkus Reviews""" "Mad and humorous, gory and poignant, "American Elsewhere" is a sort of mid-20th-century retelling of the embodiment of Lovecraftian Elder Gods by way of Alamogordo's legendary atomic tests. It's not to be missed. ""Seattle Times""" "So "American Elsewhere" is basically so good that I want to camp outside @robertjbennett's house until he tells me his secret." "Adam Christopher"" "So American Elsewhere is basically so good that I want to camp outside @robertjbennett's house until he tells me his secret."--Adam Christopher "Mad and humorous, gory and poignant, American Elsewhere is a sort of mid-20th-century retelling of the embodiment of Lovecraftian Elder Gods by way of Alamogordo's legendary atomic tests. It's not to be missed.--Seattle Times "The novel starts out curious and odd but quickly becomes terrifying and haunting, as the author reveals more about the people of Wink, who just may be the most curious and intimidating collection of folks you're likely to meet outside the pages of Stephen King.... A beautifully written, claustrophobic, and deeply memorable horror novel."--Booklist "Bennett gives the idealized image of the American dream a pan-dimensional twist with this alien invasion tale, part Bradbury and part L'Engle with a dash of Edward Scissorhands... Readers will be captivated from start to finish."--Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) on American Elsewhere "Bennett's novel may remind readers of the early works of Stephen King, presenting a small town where nothing is what it seems.... Bennett's work also evokes a mood similar to that of Mark Z. Danielewski's House of Leaves, where every darkness may swallow a person only to spit them out into a place akin to Wonderland."--RT Book Reviews "Highly impressive."--Kirkus Reviews "This wonderful offering is perfect for fans of Stephen King and Neil Gaiman."--Library Journal "American Elsewhere conjures up echoes of the best works of Ray Bradbury and Stephen King. ... American Elsewhere manages to surprise, terrify and move the reader."--Los Angeles Times "Compelling and truly horrifying, this debut novel is highly recommended for all fiction and horror collections."-- Library Journal (Starred Review) on Mr. Shivers Praise for Robert Jackson Bennett: "The Troupe is true magic: a gripping tale that reminds the audience why we fell in love with reading. This book enchants, leaving the audience on their feet, yelling for an encore." - Mat Johnson."..Bennett's finely crafted novel rises on a wave of suspense to a place of beauty and hope." - Publishers Weekly on The Troupe"Like a collaboration between Stephen King and John Steinbeck." --- Publishers Weekly on Mr. Shivers"Compelling and truly horrifying, this debut novel is highly recommended for all fiction and horror collections." --- Library Journal (Starred Review) on Mr. Shivers"Mr. Shivers is a startling debut, a deft amalgam of thriller, cerebral horror and American gothic, written with a stark and artful simplicity that complements the examination of struggling humanity pushed to its limits." --- "The Guardian "(UK)

Reseña del editor:

Some places are too good to be true.

Under a pink moon, there is a perfect little town not found on any map.

In that town, there are quiet streets lined with pretty houses, houses that conceal the strangest things.

After a couple years of hard traveling, ex-cop Mona Bright inherits her long-dead mother's home in Wink, New Mexico. And the closer Mona gets to her mother's past, the more she understands that the people of Wink are very, very different...

From one of our most talented and original new literary voices comes the next great American supernatural novel: a work that explores the dark dimensions of the hometowns and the neighbours we thought we knew.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

(Keine Angebote verfügbar)

Buch Finden:



Kaufgesuch aufgeben

Sie kennen Autor und Titel des Buches und finden es trotzdem nicht auf ZVAB? Dann geben Sie einen Suchauftrag auf und wir informieren Sie automatisch, sobald das Buch verfügbar ist!

Kaufgesuch aufgeben