Contemporary Composers On Contemporary Music

3,97 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 30 Bewertungen bei Goodreads )
9780306808197: Contemporary Composers On Contemporary Music

This anthology of essays, interviews, and autobiographical pieces provides an invaluable overview of the evolution of contemporary music—from chromaticism, serialism, and indeterminacy to jazz, vernacular, electronic, and non-Western influences. Featuring classic essays by Stravinsky, Stockhausen, and Reich, as well as writings by lesser-known but equally innovative composers such as Jack Beeson, Richard Maxfield, and T. J. Anderson, this collection covers a broad range of styles and approaches. Here you will find Busoni's influential "Sketch of a New Esthetic of Music"; Partch's exploration of a new notation system; Babbitt's defense of advanced composition in his controversial "Who Cares If You Listen?"; and Pauline Oliveros's meditations on sound. Now updated with fifteen new composers including Michael Tippet, György Ligeti, Gunther Schuller, Ben Johnston, Sofia Gubaidulina, and William Bolcom, this important book gathers together forty-nine pieces—many out of print and some newly written for this volume—which serve as a documentary history of twentieth-century music, in theory and practice. Impassioned, provocative, and eloquent, these writings are as exciting and diverse as the music they discuss.

Die Inhaltsangabe kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.


Contemporary Composers on Contemporary Music first appeared in 1967 and immediately became a standard for those with an interest in what--in our time--has come to be known as "music of our time." Even three decades ago it was a bit disingenuous to call some of these interviews and essays "contemporary"; it's been a while since Ferruccio Busoni (1866-1924), Claude Debussy (1862-1918), or Erik Satie (1866-1925) could properly be thought of as contemporary or even recent. A better title back then and certainly now might have been 20th-Century Composers on 20th-Century Music. Still, Debussy's section is invaluable, not least for its humor, and if there are a few musical frauds represented in these pages, there is also plenty of useful information and insight into the thought processes of significant composers of the last few decades. But a number of important composers, including Philip Glass, are noticeably absent while far more obscure musicians get the full treatment. The editors' tastes run to serialism, electronic music, and other more dissonant, less traditionalist, and less tonal trends. And since the range of contributors is broad, the quality of the essays and interviews is at times inconsistent. Still, particularly with this expanded edition, Contemporary Composers on Contemporary Music remains an important work for those concerned with what the editors call "new attitudes" in serious music. --Sarah Bryan Miller

About the Author:

Elliott Schwartz has been a featured guest composer throughout the U.S. and Europe, and has held extended residencies at the University of California, Ohio State University, and Cambridge University. He is the author of Music Since 1945: Issues, Materials, and Literature (with Daniel Godfrey) and is the Robert K. Beckwith Professor of Music at Bowdoin College. Barney Childs is the cofounder of Advance Recordings, former poetry editor of Genesis West, and a contributor to Perspectives of New Music and other journals. His music has been performed at the ONCE Festival and Tanglewood. He is Professor Emeritus at Johnston College, University of Redlands. Jim Fox is a Los Angeles-based composer and co-publisher of Silman-James Press.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Gebraucht kaufen Angebot ansehen

Versand: EUR 35,00
Von Deutschland nach USA

Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

In den Warenkorb

Beste Suchergebnisse beim ZVAB


Schwartz, Elliott, Barney Childs and Jim Fox:
Verlag: Da Capo Press, 22.03.1998. (1998)
ISBN 10: 0306808196 ISBN 13: 9780306808197
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Berliner Büchertisch eG
(Berlin, Deutschland)

Buchbeschreibung Da Capo Press, 22.03.1998., 1998. Buchzustand: Gut. Auflage: Expanded.. 510 Seiten Sofortversand! Gutes Exemplar, geringe Gebrauchsspuren, Cover/SU berieben/bestoßen, innen alles in Ordnung; good – fine Immediate delivery in bubble wrap envelope! Good copy, light signs of previous use, cover/dust jacket has some rubbing/wear (along the edges), interior in good condition 150516ac93 ISBN: 9780306808197 Alle Preise inkl. MwST Sprache: Englisch Gewicht in Gramm: 675 22,4 x 15,2 x 3,3 cm, Taschenbuch. Artikel-Nr. 320924

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,70
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 35,00
Von Deutschland nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer