Verwandte Artikel zu The Ministry Of Utmost Happiness: Longlisted for the...

The Ministry Of Utmost Happiness: Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017 - Softcover

 
9780241980767: The Ministry Of Utmost Happiness: Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017
Alle Exemplare der Ausgabe mit dieser ISBN anzeigen
 
 
Rare Book

Die Inhaltsangabe kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Críticas:
She is back with a heavyweight state-of-the-nation story that has been ten years in the making (Daily Mail)

Roy's second novel proves as remarkable as her first (Financial Times)

The Ministry of Utmost Happiness confirms Roy's status as a writer of delicate human dramas that also touch on some of the largest questions of the day. It is the novel as intimate epic. Expect to see it on every prize shortlist this year (The Times)

Heartfelt, poetic, intimate, laced with ironic humour...The intensity of Roy's writing - the sheer amount she cares about these people - compels you to concentrate...This is the novel one hoped Arundhati Roy would write about India (Daily Telegraph)

Teems with human drama, contains a vivid cast of characters and offers an evocative, searing portrait of modern India (Tatler)

A beautiful and grotesque portrait of modern India and the world beyond. Take your time over it, just as the author did (Good Housekeeping)

Fantastic. The novel is unflinchingly critical of power, and yet she empowers her underdog characters to persevere, leaving readers with a few droplets of much-needed hope. It's heartening when writers live up to the hyperbole that surrounds them (Hirsh Sawhney)

A kaleidoscopic story about the struggle for Kashmir's independence (Washington Post)

A sprawling, kaleidoscopic fable about love and resistance in modern India (The Guardian)

The follow-up we've been longing for - a poetic, densely populated contemporary novel in the tradition of Dickens and Tolstoy. From its beginning, one is swept up in the story... With her exquisite and dynamic storytelling, Roy balances scenes of suffering and corruption with humour and transcendence

(Vogue)
Reseña del editor:

LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2018 AND THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2017

'A sprawling kaleidoscopic fable' Guardian, Book of the Year * 'A dazzling return to form' Independent

THE SUNDAY TIMES #1 BESTSELLER FROM THE BOOKER-WINNING AUTHOR OF THE GOD OF SMALL THINGS

'An astonishing intimate epic. This is the novel one hoped Arundhati Roy would write about India' Daily Telegraph

'At magic hour; when the sun has gone but the light has not, armies of flying foxes unhinge themselves from the Banyan trees in the old graveyard and drift across the city like smoke . . .'

So begins The Ministry of Utmost Happiness, Arundhati Roy's incredible follow-up to The God of Small Things. We meet Anjum, who used to be Aftab, who runs a guesthouse in an Old Delhi graveyard and gathers around her the lost, the broken and the cast out. We meet Tilo, an architect, who, although she is loved by three men, lives in a 'country of her own skin'. When Tilo claims an abandoned baby as her own, her destiny and that of Anjum become entangled as a tale that sweeps across the years and a teeming continent takes flight . . .

'Glorious, colourful and compelling. Roy's second novel proves as remarkable as her first' Financial Times

'The book filled me with awe. Propulsive, playful, gorgeous' New York Times Book Review

'The unmissable literary read of the summer. With its insights into human nature, its memorable characters and its luscious prose, Ministry is well worth the wait' Time

'Staggeringly beautiful - a fierce, fabulously disobedient novel. Roy is writing at the height of her powers. Urgent, intimate ecstatic' Boston Globe

'A searing portrait of modern India' Tatler

'This vast novel will leave you awed by the heat of its anger and the depth of its compassion' Washington Post

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

  • VerlagPenguin Books
  • Erscheinungsdatum2018
  • ISBN 10 0241980763
  • ISBN 13 9780241980767
  • EinbandTapa blanda
  • Anzahl der Seiten464
  • Bewertung

Beste Suchergebnisse beim ZVAB

Foto des Verkäufers

Roy, Arundhati
Verlag: Penguin Books UK|Penguin, 2018
ISBN 10: 0241980763 ISBN 13: 9780241980767
Neu Softcover

Anzahl: 2 verfügbar

Anbieter: moluna, Greven, Deutschland

Bewertung: 5 Sterne, Learn more about seller ratings

Zustand: New. In a city graveyard, a resident unrolls a threadbare Persian carpet between two graves. On a concrete sidewalk, a baby appears quite suddenly after midnight, in a crib of litter. In a snowy valley a father writes to his five-year-old daughter about the numb. Artikel-Nr. 167324568

Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen

EUR 13,63
Währung umrechnen
Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb Deutschlands
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

In den Warenkorb

Beispielbild für diese ISBN

Roy, Arundhati
Verlag: Penguin, 2018
ISBN 10: 0241980763 ISBN 13: 9780241980767
Neu Paperback

Anzahl: 4 verfügbar

Anbieter: Monster Bookshop, Fleckney, Vereinigtes Königreich

Bewertung: 5 Sterne, Learn more about seller ratings

Paperback. Zustand: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Artikel-Nr. 9780241980767-GDR

Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen

EUR 12,47
Währung umrechnen
Versand: EUR 1,77
Von Vereinigtes Königreich nach Deutschland
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

In den Warenkorb