The Last Four Things (The Left Hand of God)

3,52 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 6.397 Bewertungen bei Goodreads )
 
9780141042398: The Last Four Things (The Left Hand of God)

The Last Four Things is the second in Paul Hoffman's remarkable series.Death, Judgement, Heaven and HellThese are the Last Four Things Now there are FiveMeet Thomas CaleReturning to the Sanctuary of the Redeemers, Thomas Cale is told by the Lord Militant that the destruction of mankind is necessary; the only way to undo God's greatest mistake.Cale seemingly accepts his role in the ending of the world: fate has painted him as the Left Hand of God, the Angel of Death. Absolute power is within his grasp, the terrifying zeal and military might of the Redeemers a weapon for him to handle as simply as he once used a knife.But perhaps not even the grim power that the Redeemers hold over Cale is enough - the boy who turns from love to poisonous hatred in a heartbeat, the boy who switches between kindness and sheer violence in the blink of an eye. The annihilation that the Redeemers seek may well be in Cale's hands - but his soul is far stranger than they could ever know.The Last Four Things follows on from The Left Hand of God. It is the second instalment in a gripping trilogy by Paul Hoffman. Imagine if Phillip Pullman's His Dark Materials met Umberto Eco's Name of the Rose. Fans of epic heroic fiction will love this series.Praise for Paul Hoffman:'This book gripped me from the first chapter and then dropped me days later, dazed and grinning to myself' Conn Iggulden'Tremendous momentum' Daily Telegraph'A cult classic . . .' Daily Express

Die Inhaltsangabe kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

About the Author:

Paul Hoffman is the author of three previous novels, The Last Four Things (2011), The Left Hand of God (2010),The Golden Age of Censorship (2007), a black comedy based on his experiences as a film censor and The Wisdom of Crocodiles (2000), which predicted the collapse of the world financial system. His Left Hand of God series was critically acclaimed. The Beating of His Wings is his latest novel.

Review:

"Paul Hoffman's newest novel, "The Left Hand Of God", certainly delivers the terrible goods. . . .There's gloom aplenty here, but it's tempered by a sly wit, complex characters, and a narrative engine that grinds all objections to dust. . . . [An] epic tale, full of grand passions that twist in the hand like a knife blade." -"The Onion A.V. Club" "Clever phrasing and innate humor . . . this novel will make a rousing next step for fans of Terry Goodkind, R. A. Salvatore, and their ilk." -"Library Journal" "A riveting tale of pursuit, derring-do, battles, and death...a rousing trilogy-opener...a sweeping tale of intrigue and warfare-for teens who like that sort of thing (many)." -"Booklist"

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Neu kaufen Angebot ansehen

Versand: EUR 29,50
Von Deutschland nach USA

Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

In den Warenkorb

Beste Suchergebnisse beim ZVAB

1.

Paul Hoffman
Verlag: PENGUIN GROUP Feb 2012 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0141042397 ISBN 13: 9780141042398
Neu Taschenbuch Anzahl: 2
Anbieter
AHA-BUCH GmbH
(Einbeck, Deutschland)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung PENGUIN GROUP Feb 2012, 2012. Taschenbuch. Buchzustand: Neu. Neuware - The sequel to 'The Left Hand Of God', which sold over 20,000 copies, this is the 2nd instalment in an epic narrative that will appeal to fans of Philip Pullman's 'His Dark Materials' series and Umberto Eco's 'The Name Of The Rose'. Thomas Cale has become the Angel of Death, and it's his fate to destroy mankind. Now in paperback. Englisch. Artikel-Nr. 9780141042398

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Neu kaufen
EUR 11,11
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 29,50
Von Deutschland nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer