MINETTE WALTERS The Cellar

ISBN 13: 9780099594642

The Cellar

3,4 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 1.552 Bewertungen bei Goodreads )
 
9780099594642: The Cellar

Muna's fortunes changed for the better on the day that Mr. and Mrs. Songoli's younger son failed to come home from school. Before then her bedroom was a dark windowless cellar, her activities confined to cooking and cleaning. She'd grown used to being maltreated by the Songoli family; to being a slave. She's never been outside, doesn't know how to read or write, and cannot speak English. At least that's what the Songoli's believe. But Muna is far more clever – and her plans more terrifying – than the Songolis, or anyone else, can ever imagine...

Die Inhaltsangabe kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

From the Back Cover:

From internationally bestselling crime writer Minette Walters comes The Cellar—a harrowing and compulsively readable novel about a family of African immigrants and the dark secret they keep hidden in the depths of their seemingly respectable British home.

On the day Mr. and Mrs. Songoli’s ten-year-old son fails to come home from school, fourteen-year-old Muna’s fortunes change for the better. Until then, her bedroom has been a dank, windowless cellar, her activities confined to cooking and cleaning. Over the years, she has grown used to being abused by the Songoli family—physically, emotionally, and even sexually. She has grown used to being their slave.

With the son’s disappearance, Scotland Yard swarms the Songoli home, led by a savvy female inspector who isn’t afraid to ask hard questions. To keep up appearances, Muna is given a real bedroom and real clothing, and she is treated, at least nominally, as a daughter. But when the police leave the premises, she must once again call her captors “Princess” and “Master,” and her world remains confined. She is not allowed to go outside, doesn’t know how to read or write, and cannot speak English. At least that’s what the Songolis believe. Before long, it becomes clear that young Muna is far cleverer—and her plans far more terrifying—than the Songolis, or anyone else, could ever imagine. 

For fans of Ruth Rendell and P. D. James, The Cellar reveals a terrifying world far from the public
eye, and shows what happens when humanity is pushed to its very limit.

About the Author:

Justine Eyre is a classically trained actress who has narrated over three hundred audiobooks. With a prestigious Audie Award and four AudioFile Earphones Awards under her belt, Justine is multilingual and is known for her great facility with accents.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Neu kaufen Angebot ansehen

Versand: EUR 29,50
Von Deutschland nach USA

Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

In den Warenkorb

Beste Suchergebnisse beim ZVAB

1.

Minette Walters
Verlag: Random House UK Ltd Mai 2015 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0099594641 ISBN 13: 9780099594642
Neu Anzahl: 2
Anbieter
AHA-BUCH GmbH
(Einbeck, Deutschland)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Random House UK Ltd Mai 2015, 2015. Buch. Buchzustand: Neu. Neuware - The terrifying new Hammer novella by Minette Walters, bestselling author of The Sculptress and The Scold's Bridle 246 pp. Englisch. Artikel-Nr. 9780099594642

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Neu kaufen
EUR 11,99
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 29,50
Von Deutschland nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer