Sandra Newman The Country of Ice Cream Star

ISBN 13: 9780099554653

The Country of Ice Cream Star

3,6 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 1.911 Bewertungen bei Goodreads )
 
9780099554653: The Country of Ice Cream Star

A post-apocalyptic literary epic in the tradition of The Handmaid's Tale, Divergent and Cloud Atlas, and a breakout book in North America for a writer of rare and unconventional talent.
     From Guardian First Book Award finalist Sandra Newman comes an ambitious and extraordinary novel of a future in which bands of children and teens survive on the detritus--physical and cultural--of a collapsed America. When her brother is struck down by Posies--a contagion that has killed everyone by their late teens for generations--fifteen-year-old Ice Cream Star pursues the rumour of a cure and sets out on a quest to save him, her tribe and what's left of their future. Along the way she faces broken hearts and family tragedy, mortal danger and all-out war--and much growing up for the girl who may have led herself and everyone she loves to their doom.

Die Inhaltsangabe kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

From the Back Cover:

In the ruins of a future America, fifteen-year-old Ice Cream Star and her nomadic tribe live off the detritus of a fallen civilization. Theirs is a world of children; before reaching the age of twenty, they all die of a disease they call Posies—a plague that has killed for generations.

When her brother begins showing signs of the disease, Ice Cream Star sets off to find a cure. Led by a captured prisoner who becomes her devoted protector and friend, she travels hundreds of miles across treacherous territory, fighting to protect the only world she has ever known.

Written in a lyrical, inventive patois, The Country of Ice Cream Star is a postapocalyptic literary epic as imaginative as The Passage and as ambitious as Cloud Atlas. This is a breathtaking work from a writer of rare and unconventional talent.

“Builds towards a powerful, horrifying, and beautifully written climax, one that’s epic in scope but also feels intensely personal.” —New York Times Book Review

“Blends elements of American history, popular culture, and political allegory with romance and thriller pacing. This suspenseful, provocative tale is The Hunger Games meets Lord of the Flies and The Walking Dead, only much, much better.” —Booklist

“Ice Cream’s language is as potent and earthy as Chaucerian vernacular. . . . One begins to think in this dialect; it is as sweet and addictive as Ice Cream herself.” —Globe and Mail (Toronto)

About the Author:

SANDRA NEWMAN is the author of Cake and The Only Good Thing Anyone Has Ever Done; a memoir, Changeling; and The Western Lit Survival Kit: How to Read the Classics without Fear. She is co-author of the bestselling How Not to Write a Novel and Read This Next. Newman lives in Brooklyn.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Gebraucht kaufen Angebot ansehen

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb Deutschland

Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

In den Warenkorb

Beste Suchergebnisse beim ZVAB

1.

Sandra Newman
Verlag: Vintage (2015)
ISBN 10: 0099554658 ISBN 13: 9780099554653
Gebraucht Taschenbuch Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Rheinberg-Buch
(Bergisch Gladbach, Deutschland)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Vintage, 2015. Taschenbuch. Buchzustand: Gebraucht. Gebraucht - Gut Blattschnitt vergilbt - My name be Ice Cream Fifteen Star and this be the tale of how I bring the cure to all the Nighted States, save every poory children, short for life. Is how a city die for selfish love, and rise from this same smallness. Be how the new America begin, in wars against all hope - a country with no power in a world that hate its life. So been the faith I sworn, and it ain't evils in no world nor cruelties in no red hell can change the vally heart of Ice Cream Star. In the ruins of a future America, fifteen-year-old Ice Cream Star and her people survive by scavenging in the detritus of an abandoned civilization. Theirs is a world of children - by the time they reach twenty, each of them will die from a disease they call posies. When her brother sickens, Ice Cream sets out on the trail of a cure, led by a stranger whose intentions remain unclear. It's a quest that will lead her to love and heartbreak, to captivity and to a nation's throne, and ultimately into a war that threatens to doom everyone she loves. 640 pp. Englisch. Artikel-Nr. INF1000878650

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 2,05
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb Deutschland
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer