Sex, Science & Profits: How People Evolved to Make Money

3,17 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 24 Bewertungen bei Goodreads )
 
9780099281931: Sex, Science & Profits: How People Evolved to Make Money

A clever, thought-provoking look at the biological roots of economics -- Kealey’s insightful work illuminates in the tradition of Richard Dawkins, Steven Pinker and Jared Diamond.

In this highly original work, the author makes a groundbreaking and exciting connection between the
evolutionary and economic history of humanity. He explains how the roots of barter, trade and the contract are embedded in human nature, and how markets work on the evolutionary patterns of natural selection.

Splendidly multi-faceted, the book travels across human history from Neolithic times, through Ancient Egypt and the Renaissance European explorers, to the failure of the Soviet economy in recent years. Through this journey Kealey skillfully demonstrates how an understanding of biology and natural selection radically transforms our view of economics, business, technology and the economic history of the human species. This exceptional study will appeal to anyone who enjoys popular science, history or serious business books. Sex, Science and Profits is witty, magnificent, thought- provoking and provocative. It promises to be an important and highly controversial book.
From the Hardcover edition.

Die Inhaltsangabe kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

About the Author:

Terence Kealey is a clinical biochemist at the University of Cambridge and at Addenbrooke’s Hospital, specializing in the biochemistry of hair. He writes regularly for the Spectator and the New Scientist.
From the Hardcover edition.

Review:

Praise for Kealey’s The Economic Laws of Scientific Research:
“A brilliant book. One of the most appetizing and sustained polemics ever concocted on a serious
topic” -- Economist

“One of the most intelligent, trend-changing and courageous books I have ever read” -- Matt Ridley, Daily Telegraph
From the Hardcover edition.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Gebraucht kaufen Angebot ansehen

Versand: EUR 15,00
Von Deutschland nach USA

Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

In den Warenkorb

Beste Suchergebnisse beim ZVAB

1.

Kealey, Terence:
Verlag: Vintage Books (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099281937 ISBN 13: 9780099281931
Gebraucht sehr gut Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Vintage Books, 2009. sehr gut. 455 Seiten. Broschur. Knick im vorderen Einbanddeckel Sprache: Englisch Gewicht in Gramm: 323. Artikel-Nr. 62597

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 7,50
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 15,00
Von Deutschland nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer