Circles of Stone (The Mirror Chronicles, Book 2)

4,37 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 51 Bewertungen bei Goodreads )
 
9780007491179: Circles of Stone (The Mirror Chronicles, Book 2)

The second volume in an epic fantasy trilogy that will thrill everyone who loves rich stories of wonder and magic.

Together, they have unimaginable power. But unless they part, that power may destroy them.

As the dark lord Thoth raises a monstrous army, Sylas and Naeo discover that their new-found power could also be their undoing. At the same time, Sylas longs to find his mother, and Naeo her father. So begins a mirrored quest that will bring Naeo into our world of science and take Sylas deep into the magic of the Other. They both hope to find the one the other loves, but also the ultimate truth: of our broken worlds and divided souls, of prophecy and of Sylas and Naeo’s wondrous power.

But it’s a race against time. Even as they begin their journey, Thoth’s creatures mass at the gateways between our worlds – at the ancient circles of stone...

War is coming and unless Sylas and Naeo can stop it, it may destroy us all.

Die Inhaltsangabe kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

About the Author:

Ian Johnstone was brought up in Oxfordshire and now lives in Oxford, which might suggest a man who likes to stick to what he knows. In fact, Ian makes an awkward habit of shifting between worlds. He grew up in a quiet English town but has spent much of his life travelling and working in Africa. He has a love of science but studied English Literature. He grew up in Oxford but received his degree from Cambridge.

So perhaps it’s not surprising at all that he writes fantastical novels about journeys to other worlds. Ian lives on a hill with his wife Emily and his daughter Ella.

Review:

"This is classic fantasy stuff, really well done, and fans of Tolkien or Garth Nix will find much to love...” LoveReading4Kids

“Part two of an epic quest to save two worlds: thrilling, beautifully written...a huge, exciting book, full of engrossing ideas about freedom, justice and relationships, and many a young reader will love the chance to really delve deeply into such a well-constructed, highly original fantasy.” The Bookbag

“Full of conviction, this powerful story moves between two worlds; a world of science and a world of magic... This is a breathtaking classic fantasy series.” Parents In Touch

Praise for The Mirror Chronicles – The Bell Between Worlds:

“I became totally immersed in an amazing world of painted words ... breathtaking and an absolute joy to read... A book that you will reflect on for the rest of your life. Just like when you first read the Hobbit or Sabriel or took your first stroll along the story path of Terry Pratchett... Fantastically exciting... Quite simply... Possibly the best book that I have read – or will read – this year." Mr Ripley's Enchanted Books

"Outstanding ... Epic stuff. This is certainly the best 'classic' fantasy I have come across so far from the last 14 years ... Could well prove to be one of the Greats of any period.
Magic Fiction Since Potter

“Johnstone effortlessly conjures up elaborate worlds rich in both magic and fantasy. The Mirror Chronicles has an enchanting quality that is capable of standing shoulder to shoulder with the likes of Chronicles of Narnia and His Dark Materials ... The narrative flows with ease and the story maintains excitement right to the end. This highly-charged adventure is a delightful page-turner for both children and adults alike." Bookseller (We Love This Book)

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Neu kaufen Angebot ansehen

Versand: EUR 29,50
Von Deutschland nach USA

Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

In den Warenkorb

Beste Suchergebnisse beim ZVAB

1.

Ian Johnstone
Verlag: Harper Collins Publ. UK Jul 2015 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007491174 ISBN 13: 9780007491179
Neu Taschenbuch Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
AHA-BUCH GmbH
(Einbeck, Deutschland)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Harper Collins Publ. UK Jul 2015, 2015. Taschenbuch. Buchzustand: Neu. Neuware - The second in an epic fantasy trilogy full of wonder and magic. Young Sylas is stuck in The Other, and desperate to return home to the mother he's just learned is still alive. For fans of C.S. Lewis and Eoin Colfer. Ages: 10+. 549 pp. Englisch. Artikel-Nr. 9780007491179

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Neu kaufen
EUR 8,49
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 29,50
Von Deutschland nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer