The Lion Wakes (The Kingdom Series): 1

3,48 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 227 Bewertungen bei GoodReads )
9780007337880: The Lion Wakes (The Kingdom Series): 1

‘In The Lion Wakes Robert Low has created an enthralling, complete world: profoundly researched, brilliantly imagined. The novel is intensely exciting, enjoyable and satisfying: a novel of honour, duty, chivalry, desperation, self-interest and fear – more sophisticated than almost any recent novel with an historical setting.
Crackling with original descriptive prose – sudden, arresting images combined with dialogue and accents caught to perfection – there is something deeply lyrical about its use of language.
Robert Low writes too well for this novel to be contained by the label of “historical fiction” The Lion Wakes deserves to be read by all fans of historical fiction, but also by many, many more – by all those who enjoy classic storytelling in wonderful prose’
Harry Sidebottom

‘An outstanding novel. The Lion Wakes is a fantastic read, written by a real master of historical fiction. Low has painted a most compelling picture of 13th century Scotland. I cannot wait for the next book in the series’
Ben Kane

‘With excellent characters and an engaging plot that reeks of authenticity, The Lion Wakes is powerful stuff. Robert Low is on my “to read” list from now on’
Anthony Riches, author of the Empire series

Vom Verlag:

The first novel in The Kingdom Series as Robert Low moves from the Vikings to the making of Scotland.

It is 1296 and Scotland is in turmoil. The old king, Alexander III, has died after falling off his horse one dark and stormy night. Scotland’s future is in peril. Edward I of England, desperate to keep control of his northern borders, arranges for John Baliol, a weak man who Edward knows he can manipulate, to take leadership of Scotland.

But unrest is rife and many are determined to throw off the shackles of England. Among those men is Robert the Bruce, darkly handsome, young, angry and obsessed by his desire to win Scotland's throne. He will fight for the freedom of the Scots until the end.

But there are many rival factions and the English are a strong and fearsome opponent. The Lion Wakes culminates in the Battle of Falkirk which proves to be the beginning of a rivalry that will last for decades…

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Neu kaufen Angebot ansehen

Versand: EUR 29,50
Von Deutschland nach USA

Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

In den Warenkorb

Beste Suchergebnisse beim ZVAB


Low, Robert
Verlag: Harpercollins Publishers Sep 2011 (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007337884 ISBN 13: 9780007337880
Neu Taschenbuch Anzahl: 1
(Einbeck, Deutschland)

Buchbeschreibung Harpercollins Publishers Sep 2011, 2011. Taschenbuch. Buchzustand: Neu. 197x130x30 mm. Neuware - The first novel in a new series about the making of Scotland, set in 1296. From the author of 'The Whale Road' and its sequels, which were set in the Viking era, this will appeal to fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. 'An outstanding novel.' Ben Kane 432 pp. Englisch. Artikel-Nr. 9780007337880

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Neu kaufen
EUR 9,70
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 29,50
Von Deutschland nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer