Queen's Gambit

3,78 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 3.005 Bewertungen bei GoodReads )
9781405909365: Queen's Gambit
Vom Verlag:

For fans of Hilary Mantel, Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, Elizabeth Fremantle's first novel, Queen's Gambit, is a riveting account of Katherine Parr, the Tudor queen who married four men and outlived three of them - including Henry VIII.

Queen's Gambit:
"Gripping". (Woman & Home).
""Sumptuous". (Metro).
""A major new voice in historical fiction". (The Bookseller).
""Rich and enticing". (Stylist).
""Electric". (Good Housekeeping).
""Wildly entertaining". (Huffington Post).

Tudor England - A dying king. A queen in danger.
Widowed for the second time aged thirty-one, Katherine is obliged to return to court but, suspicious of the aging Henry and those who surround him, she does so with reluctance.
Nevertheless when she finds herself caught up in a passionate affair with the dashing and seductive Thomas Seymour, she believes she might finally be able to marry for love. But her presence at court has attracted the attentions of another...

Captivated by her honesty and intelligence, Henry Tudor has his own plans for Katherine and no one is in the position to refuse a proposal from the king.
With her charismatic lover dispatched to the continent, Katherine becomes Henry's sixth wife.
Passionate about religious reform, and ever aware of the fates of his previous queens, she must draw upon all her instincts and intellect to navigate the treachery of the court.

With the Catholic faction once more in the ascendency, reformers burned for heresy and those around the dying king vying for position in the new regime, her survival seems unlikely - and yet she has still not quite given up on love...

Rich in atmosphere and period detail, and told through the eyes of Katherine and her young maid Dot, Queen's Gambit is the story of two very different women during a terrifying and turbulent time.

If you loved Wolf Hall, The Other Boleyn Girl or the BBC drama series The Tudors, then Elizabeth Fremantle's Queen's Gambit is the book for you.

Elizabeth Fremantle holds a first in English and an MA in creative Writing from Birkbeck. Queen's Gambit is her first novel. Her second, Queen Jane's Shadow, will be published in 2014.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Neu kaufen Angebot ansehen

Versand: EUR 29,50
Von Deutschland nach USA

Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

In den Warenkorb

Beste Suchergebnisse beim ZVAB


Elizabeth FremantleElizabeth Fremantle
Verlag: Penguin UK Jul 2013 (2013)
ISBN 10: 1405909366 ISBN 13: 9781405909365
Neu Taschenbuch Anzahl: 1
(Einbeck, Deutschland)

Buchbeschreibung Penguin UK Jul 2013, 2013. Taschenbuch. Buchzustand: Neu. 181x110x30 mm. Neuware - The court of Henry VIII is rife with intrigue, rivalries and romance - and none are better placed to understand this than the women at its heart.The story of Katherine Parr, Henry VIII's final wife 480 pp. Englisch. Artikel-Nr. 9781405909365

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Neu kaufen
EUR 8,99
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 29,50
Von Deutschland nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer