Chevalier, Tracy Burning Bright

ISBN 13: 9780007178360

Burning Bright

3,32 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 9.558 Bewertungen bei GoodReads )
9780007178360: Burning Bright

'A subtle clarity of style, quirky but seldom over-drawn characters, engaging touches of domestic detail and a splendidly vital recreation of Georgian London'
Sunday Times

'Vivid, romantic and pacey'
Daily Mail

'Those who admired Chevalier's atmospheric evocation of 17th-century Delft will find much to enjoy in her vivid reconstruction of late 18th-century London'

'Burning Bright is an ambitious, impressively-researched novel…You can almost smell the smoke and mildewed clothes, see the gaunt, pock-marked faces of people struggling to survive and sense Jem's wonder as he gazes across the murky Thames to a perplexing world'
Daily Express

Vom Verlag:

Flames and funerals, circus feats and seduction, neighbours and nakedness: Tracy Chevalier's Burning Bright sparkles with historical drama. London 1792. The Kellaways move from familiar rural Dorset to the tumult of a cramped, unforgiving city. They are leaving behind a terrible loss, a blow that only a completely new life may soften. Against the backdrop of a city jittery over the increasingly bloody French Revolution, a surprising bond forms between Jem, the youngest Kellaway boy, and streetwise Londoner Maggie Butterfield. Their friendship takes a dramatic turn when they become entangled in the life of their neighbour, the printer, poet and radical, William Blake. He is a guiding spirit as Jem and Maggie navigate the unpredictable, exhilarating passage from innocence to experience. Their journey inspires one of Blake's most entrancing works. Georgian London is recreated as vividly in Burning Bright as 17th-century Delft was in Tracy Chevalier's bestselling masterpiece, Girl with a Pearl Earring. This novel is perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus and Essie Fox's Somnambulist.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Neu kaufen Angebot ansehen

Versand: EUR 29,50
Von Deutschland nach USA

Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

In den Warenkorb

Beste Suchergebnisse beim ZVAB


Chevalier, Tracy
Verlag: Harpercollins Publishers Feb 2008 (2008)
ISBN 10: 0007178360 ISBN 13: 9780007178360
Neu Taschenbuch Anzahl: 2
(Einbeck, Deutschland)

Buchbeschreibung Harpercollins Publishers Feb 2008, 2008. Taschenbuch. Buchzustand: Neu. 197x129x25 mm. Neuware - From the bestselling author of 'Girl With A Pearl Earring', which was made into a successful film, this is a moving historical novel set in the late 18th century. Following the friendship between 2 wayward children in London, who become the inspiration for one of William Blake's most entrancing works, it's a rich and multi-layered piece of work. The hardback edition went straight into the top ten, and this edition will be supported by a huge marketing campaign, including national press and London underground advertising. ''Burning Bright' remains vivid, romantic and pacey' 'Daily Mail' 416 pp. Englisch. Artikel-Nr. 9780007178360

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Neu kaufen
EUR 12,50
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 29,50
Von Deutschland nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer